DVD-Audio - Format Details (extract from Sonic Manual)

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
There's a format that I've been using for several years to record large playlists called "Music DVD." AFAIK, it's stereo only, but the format claims that it can be played on any DVD-video player, and so far that seems to be the case, unless there's an incompatibility with -R and +R discs.

The disc contents have both audio and video stream folders, so it seems like it could be used for multi-channel audio, but that's just a first guess on my part. Does anyone have information regarding MC recording on Music DVDs?

What you are referring to are just video DVD's used for music files only. I used to use "Audio DVD Creator" which can store your files as PCM 48KHz 16bit or as AC3 2ch or 5.1 ch. It allowed me to copy a large number of CD's to one DVD disc. It would up convert the 44.1 sample rate to the DVD standard of 48KHz. Sadly the company appears to be out of business. I had to search for a serial number crack as I lost my original code. I was going to make some discs for use in my truck but I will have to bypass the parking brake wire first. They assume that DVD's are for movies which you aren't supposed to watch while driving, Duh!

I came upon another similar program from BlazeVideo "Music DVD Creator" which does PCM at 48 or 96KHz. I attempted to purchase a licence but after months of trying the outfit that processes the payments finally came back and said that they no longer process payments for that company! So they are no longer in business either! It didn't support multichannel anyway.

Roxio has a function as well that lets you burn audio to a DVD disc. As I recall it was stereo AC3 only.

Only DVD-Audio discs support files in the audio folder. Software for that is also rare or discontinued. DVD-Audio files will not play on a regular DVD-Video player.