Futzing with "IN SEARCH OF THE LOST CHORD" 5.1 Mix

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ar surround

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
I started playing around with Ride My See-Saw (RMSS) in Audacity. Please keep in mind that a month ago, all I could do is import a CD into iTunes, create a playlist, and burn it to a CD. So I'm new at this Audacity thing and know just enough to be dangerous.

What I've done so far is import the new stereo mix as the front channels along with the surround channels of the 5.1 mix. I also raised the levels of the surrounds by +3dB. The resulting mix is much more satisfying than the debacle on the 5.1. I couldn't detect any problems with syncing of the fronts and surrounds. Some issues I need to resolve:

- I believe that the surrounds still need about +2 to +3dB boost relative to the fronts.
- The overall volume levels need to be reduced perhaps -6dB to correspond to the rest of the 5.1 mix. I.e. Dr. Livingston sounds too low in volume compared to RMSS.

I'm also toying with pulling in the center channel from the 5.1 mix to see if I can make the guitars (if they or anything else are actually in the center) more prominent as they have always been too reticent for my tastes.

I'll play with this some more and then post the results and some Audacity screen shots when I'm happy with it. Then it is on to Voices In The Sky. But I fear that by the time I am done futzing with this album I will never want to hear it ever again!

This is what I've settled on after seven trials at a modified 5.1 mix of Ride My See-Saw:

Here is original new stereo mix front channels followed by the center, LFE and surrounds from the 5.1 mix imported into Audacity:

RMSS Orig ST plus SS.png

The modified mix as shown below consists of:
- The two front channels from the new stereo mix attenuated by -6dB