LFE track for decoded SQ recordings with Adobe Audition

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

podman

Hi

I'm a newbie here, so please be kind to me!

I've successfully used the AA2 script posted on this forum to decode some SQ recordings into 4 wav files, which I've encoded into DTS using SurCode CD Pro DTS.

When playing them back, the four channels have been decoded correctly, but they sound very thin, lacking in bass. I have some DTS discs that Tab made me a few years ago, which utilise the LFE channel and sound good on my system.

My question is, how do I go about making an LFE track from my four wav files in AA2? Any tips would be appreciated.

Many thanks
podman

Of course, I am quite new here myself!
Basicall I would like to point you - and everyone else - to this article http://www.ambisonic.net/bassmgt1.html and this part 2 of it http://www.ambisonic.net/bassmgt2.html.

Basically,the point is that for music one should not put music into the LFE channel. The LFE channel is not the sub-woofer, even if some treat it that way. The LFE should be used for dinosaur footfalls and astroids smashing into Earth.

The subwoofer output from the AV receiver (AVR) should be a mix of the LFE and the bass in the five other channels. But if the five (LF,RF,CF, LB, RB) speakers are full range, all bass should go to all these five. Including the LFE.
So the AVR bass manager should take care of this for you. In other words, but the four channels from the SQ disk into LF, RF, LB and RB, and nothing into LFE. And in my opinion nothing into CF either.

LF = Left Front
CF = Center Front
RF = Right Front
LB = Left Back
RB = Right Back