SACD ISO to DVDA?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

s6270

Hi all, I've got a few .ISO files of SACD rips that I can't do too much with right now (no SACD player!) I'm not too tech savvy but I'm curious to know whether it's possible to convert the multichannel content of an SACD .ISO file to a DVD-A? Thanks!

Yes. You can extract the DSD files from the ISO, convert them to PCM and burn a DVD. OTOH, you can just play the ISO with JRiver or, I think, foobar.

Its a little bit more effort than "xtract the DSD files from the ISO, convert them to PCM and burn a DVD"

You need to:

Extract the DSD
Convert it to PCM (in a DVD-A compatible bitrate) using DSD to PCM conversion software
Most likely Encode the PCM to MLP using a MLP encoder
Author a DVD-Audio disc with DVD-Audio Authoring software
and optionally a DVD-V layer -which will require a DD or DTS audio track to be created with the appropriate software)

Foobar 2000 will open the SACD ISO file into individual tracks - from there you can convert the tracks to WAV files @ 24/88 sampling rate. The WAV files can then be authored to DVDA via several programs. I find Cirlinca to be the easiest although as it has no MLP capabilities, you most likely will be required to have down sample to 24/48.

Its a little bit more effort than "xtract the DSD files from the ISO, convert them to PCM and burn a DVD"
Sure but I did that to make the contrast with just playing the ISO.

Foobar 2000 will open the SACD ISO file into individual tracks - from there you can convert the tracks to WAV files @ 24/88 sampling rate.
Same for JRiver.

Another question along these lines, pardon my age-induced brain blockages...

So I created an SACD.ISO using the new Oppo method discussed elsewhere in the forum.