Debating a 5.1 mix - "discrete" or "ambient" (and other musings)

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

britre

You need to get a copy of the MFSL Jethro Tull Aqualung and you will no longer be a Wilson follower. He really screwed with everyones head on that stereo mix. I have not had the pleasure/pain to hear the 5.1 creation yet. The original quad on the DVD interests me greatly however...

LOL very funny. Good thing I have 40+ years of listening experience and bought both Auqualung and WYWH at a retail store for 1975's $6.98 price. The Quadraphonic ones were a bit more. But I am not sure why I bought that since I hate surround so much. Or for that matter why I would blow $125 for Pink Floyd just to get surround sound I have had for years with the best of the best stereo versions out there. WYWH has been reissued at least 20 times and bottom line is Guthrie ruined it by obvoisly never really listening too it. The quad ones are on that DVD and anyone can listen and tell the difference between real surrround and derrived. If it doesn't sound right people should know before they plunk down all that cash for inferior product. Spend your cash on the real thing, not an imitation.

LOL very funny. Good thing I have 40+ years of listening experience and bought both Auqualung and WYWH at a retail store for 1975's $6.98 price.

I've been listening to it since 1971, when my older sister bought it and played it incessantly (I still have her beat-up old LP). So by your criterion, I win. And btw, that distortion on Hymn 42 has always been there.

The Quadraphonic ones were a bit more. But I am not sure why I bought that since I hate surround so much. Or for that matter why I would blow $125 for Pink Floyd just to get surround sound I have had for years with the best of the best stereo versions out there.

That does sound kind of crazy. Have you seen someone about it?