Multichannel File Server Options

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scratch17

Jon, since the music file server parts of this thread are seriously off topic, I think the best thing to do is to start a new thread. There seems to be interest in this topic, so I will do that now.

I believe that there ought to be a separate thread for file server types, and another for file conversion / hard disc creation software. I will start with the topic Music File Servers, and then add a new topic called File Conversion and Hard Disc Creation.

I am by no means an expert in either of these areas. My experience in this area goes back the five months that I've owned the OPPO BDP-93. In terms of practical use, my knowledge is also mostly limited to that platform, and using computer based music servers such as iTunes and Monkey.

However, I have done some research on the net and Safari books Online, that has increased my knowledge in these areas. Out of necessity, I've needed to learn how to convert files from different formats. I have also learned about "gotcha's" such as the inability to do "gapless playback" that can be annoyances with one format, that aren't present with other formats.

I suggest a community effort among forum members to create a knowledge base that is valid, and offers a range of options from computer-only servers to standalone systems (with or without disc playback). Other options such as where the files are stored and how they are streamed to the server should be discussed and evaluated, with pros and cons.

For any music lover, regardless of your level of computer literacy , music file servers should be on your radar. This technology is in its early infancy and is already becoming very user friendly. If you can use a smart phone with a built-in music player, you can handle a music file server.

Steven