Safely Storing Digital Multi-Channel Files

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dr8track

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Since 2002/2003
With a lot of people having converted their analog quad collection to digital files and playing those files back via hard drive it makes me wonder what a safe way to store audio files really is. I work in the television industry on the creative, not the technical side. I was in a meeting today where we were discussing television shows that had been edited on Avid and stored on digital hard drives. The series we were discussing was on for 6 seasons and the oldest hard drives would be about five years old. I'm hearing from the tech types at my company, "Oh, we lost all those early files because the hard drives are bad. They are dead. Can't retrieve any of the material from them." So it made me wonder, how many people have jettisoned their classic quadraphonic tapes and vinyl after converting them to digital and thinking they were safely storing them on a hard drive. If these hard drives really have a relatively short shelf life of 4, 5 or 6 years, that sounds like a really bad plan.
Is there some other magical way of saving large digital files that can be safely retrieved? Or are we all better off hanging onto our original quad recordings that we've been successfully able to play for 40 plus years now?

If you've got the money, you want to build a hard drive array, or RAID. In simple terms, what this does is build one large storage area out of all the drives, and for every 5 drives in the RAID, one of them is allocated to what's called parity data. This means that if any one of the hard drives fail, you can take out the defective drive, replace it with a blank one and the system can rebuild the data on the missing drive using the parity data and some complicated math.