HiRez Poll Yes - FRAGILE (2015 Mix) [BluRay Audio/DVD-A]

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rate the DVD-A/BDA of YES - FRAGILE (2015 Mix)

• 7:

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 6:

• 5:

• 4:

• 3:

• 2:

• Total voters

JonUrban

Forum Curmudgeon
Staff member
Admin
Since 2002/2003
Please post your thoughts and comments on the 2015 Steven Wilson remix of the YES album FRAGILE.

If you want to comment solely on the earlier 2003 release from WB/Rhino on DVD-A and Japanese SACD, please visit the thread designated for that release HERE.

Comparisons between the two versions are always welcome and can be noted in either poll thread.

PRE-RELEASE DISCUSSION THREAD FOR THE 2015 REMIX HERE

Yes Fragile.jpg

There's a lot to take in on this release. I played it through once and felt slightly lost. Is it the same Fragile that I've been enjoying for more than 30 years? The first stand-out feature is the tunefulness of the bass. It's going to take several more listens before I can decide on a score, but I feel it's going to be quite high...

The very beginning of "Roundabout" leaves something to be desired, but then, once the full band kicks in, we're off! And it just sounds glorious!
This is the very first time I have ever heard this song presented in surround in a way that is not only discrete but one that also honors the spirit and sound of the original stereo mix.