DIY SQ Decoders?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SQLGuy

Hi folks,

A bit of a quad noob here. While I have noticed that Full Logic SQ decoders seem a bit scarce/pricey, the Motorola chips for them seem pretty easy to find, for fairly reasonable money. Is there anyone that has done, or is doing, newer kits or products based on these?

Also, in a related question, I found one set of CBS/Motorola documentation that had three suggested SQ decoder circuits. The first one (L-1) used MC1312, MC1314, and MC1315 in a fairly plain implementation; L-2 added variable blend, with a J-FET between LB and RB, and L-3 was similar to L-2, but replaced the MC1312 with discrete components for the matrix decoder.

Anyone have experience with units that used any of these circuits? I'm thinking about building an L-3, maybe, if its performance seems worthwhile. Right now, I have nothing to decode SQ... except a Neural processor in my Pre/Pro. I tried this with a couple of SQ albums, and it sounded OK (pretty good, actually, on Caravanserai), but nothing like the original Quad mix off of the Six Wives of Henry the VIII DVD-A.

Cheers,
Paul

Hi Paul,

Welcome to the forum.

Have you considered software decoding? There's software and scripts that can take a two channel SQ source, process it, and leave you with four channels of decoded material.

Hi Mike,

Yes. I've seen those. From what I understand, though, they're basically the pre-logic decoding, with no steering or blend, and deliver only about 3dB of front/rear separation, as opposed to the 15dB from the CBS/Motorola circuits.

As you are new you may not have heard of the
Surround master
If you want the best SQ decoding and the best QS decoding
this is all you need it is all in 1 unit
From Australia Look up the tests

Hi Mike,