Is a Technics SL-1200 suitable for playing quad LPs?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jazzop

I'm new to quad, and I read about the low-capacitance stylus requirements for playing quad vinyl. Since I'd rather not have to buy a dedicated turntable just yet for quad, does anyone know if the Technics SL-1200MKII or MKIII (I have 1 of each) is suitable for the task? Obviously I need to get a special cartridge, but a nice thing about the 1200 is the ability to quick-change cartridges by removing the collar nut on the tonearm.

How would I determine the capacitance of the signal wires? If the capacitance is too high, how difficult of a mod would it be to replace them? If I replaced the wires, would that impact playback of other records (consider also that these TTs are used for mixing and scratching)?

Cheers!

What kind of Quad? For CD-4, from what I gather, you may need different cabling out the back of the arm (not massively difficult if you're familiar with a soldering iron, have a decent enough bench - or baby changing table, and can make sure the thirty odd screws you have to undo are put back again) and a microline/shibata stylus, such as an AT440Mla or Mlb. For SQ and QS it should be fine as is, although the better the cartridge, etc...

What kind of Quad? For CD-4, from what I gather, you may need different cabling out the back of the arm (not massively difficult if you're familiar with a soldering iron, have a decent enough bench - or baby changing table, and can make sure the thirty odd screws you have to undo are put back again) and a microline/shibata stylus, such as an AT440Mla or Mlb. For SQ and QS it should be fine as is, although the better the cartridge, etc...