Best drum solos in surround format

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sbrom

701 Club - QQ All-Star
QQ Supporter
What are examples of superb drum solos in surround tracks?

I'm relatively new to surround and excited to explore old favorites in a new way. In my limited exposure so far my favorite drum solo is:

"I'm a Man", Chicago Transit Authority Bluray (Quadio), Danny Seraphine solo.

Other suggestions?

Nothing specific in terms of a song, but Gavin Harrison simply kills it all during Porcupine Trees, Anesthitize..I mean kills it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nothing specific in terms of a song, but Gavin Harrison simply kills it all during Porcupine Trees, Anesthitize..I mean kills it.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks, I'll check it out! PT has been on my "want list" for a while. I assume the Anesthesize BluRay is the way to go?

Billy Cobham - Spectrum

Whilst mostly mixed in stereo, the drums on this album sound MUCH better than 90% of all surround releases. Engineers these days can not record drums.

Check out Zappa's Halloween DVD Audio. There is a drum solo track, Zeets I think, that is mixed in 5.1. Brilliantly done.

Gentle Giant Power and Glory has some drum breaks expertly mixed in surround.

Whilst mostly mixed in stereo, the drums on this album sound MUCH better than 90% of all surround releases. Engineers these days can not record drums.

Interesting, and I agree! Best stereo drum recording I've heard since starting in with high-Res: Cafe Blue (Sacd) by Patricia Barber.

I'll add Spectrum to my wanted column.

Mahavishnu Orchestra's Birds of Fire is on 4.0 SACD, and the track "One Word" has a drum solo in it

Interesting, and I agree! Best stereo drum recording I've heard since starting in with high-Res: Cafe Blue (Sacd) by Patricia Barber.

I'll add Spectrum to my wanted column.