Remastered Classical SACDs from Warner Japan: Happiness, frustration, pauperism!

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

McCrutchy

Hey guys,

I don't see a lot of talk about these, so I wanted to point them out. Warner Music Japan has several dozen remastered classical SACDs that have been released in the past couple of years, most notably, a series of 96/24 remasters called the Legendary Series, which were issued on Hybrid SACD from 2015 onwards, after they issued the Maria Callas remasters on SACD. Since I am relatively new to collecting classical, I am struggling to figure out which releases to get, but I do own the Klemperer St. Matthew's Passion, which I enjoy a lot. Notably, these Legendary Series remasters (which apparently, were done at Abbey Road) appear to be exclusive to Japan, at least physically. There are also several other of these WMJ Hybrid SACDs which are exclusive to Tower Records in Japan, as part of the Tower Records Definition Series.

Now, it seems that outside of Tower Records, the Hybrid SACD series may be ended, but more remasters are coming from WMJ as single-layer SACDs. The strange part is, not only are these not Hybrids, but they've already been released by Warner Classics in the West. These include two from Mstislav Rostropovich coming in April (which appear to already be available on remastered CD here and here), and not yet listed at WMJ are June 2017 releases of The Magic Flute, Don Giovanni and Carmen, which were released by Warner Classics on remastered CD in 2016 as part of the Legendary Opera Recordings series.