Oppo vs Sony for SACD, DVD-Audio, etc.?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ergalthema

I'm having trouble understanding how players handle formats like SACD and DVD-Audio over HDMI (to my Onkyo TX-NR646). I would like the ability to play both formats in 5.1.

I've been looking at Oppo 970 and 981 - they seem similar for my needs, but I'm not 100% sure they will get SACD and DVD-Audio as 5.1 through my receiver. It appears that they don't do DSD bitstream, but their PCM via HDMI might work if it's 5.1

I'm also considering the Sony BDP-S6200, but I have similar questions about it.

Can anyone help and possibly make a recommendation based off what I'm looking for?

I'm no expert on any of those players, but it seems to me that both of those Oppos are universal players. Meaning, they will play DVD, DVD-Audio, SACD all in multi-channel if the discs contain multi-channel.

That Sony is not a universal player. As a result, it won't play any SACD or any DVD-Audio, but it would play a DVD-Video I guess. Differentiation between those gets a bit dicey to understand IMO.

I guess you are not looking to spend around $500 and get a newer Oppo Blu-ray player that would also be universal format?

I'm no expert on any of those players, but it seems to me that both of those Oppos are universal players. Meaning, they will play DVD, DVD-Audio, SACD all in multi-channel if the discs contain multi-channel.

That Sony is not a universal player. As a result, it won't play any SACD or any DVD-Audio, but it would play a DVD-Video I guess. Differentiation between those gets a bit dicey to understand IMO.

I guess you are not looking to spend around $500 and get a newer Oppo Blu-ray player that would also be universal format?

Right - wanting an older, cheaper audio player. Xbox One S is my main Blu-ray player.