CD-4 Cartridge For A Dual 1229Q

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jim M

Hi guys. I am just getting into setting up a quad system so I am going to have a lot of newbie questions.

What cartridge would you recommend for CD-4 playback for a Dual 1229Q? The Q model was wired for quad. It does not have to be the most expensive cartridge but I want something that sounds good. Looking to spend $100 to $200. Maybe to $300 if the bang for the buck is there for this turntable. I prefer something currently available but am willing to spend some time on the auction site.
I presently have a Shure V15 Type III and a Type IV that I like the sound of. Both are ready for a new stylus and I am thinking of the JICO sas series. Are these suitable for CD-4, marginal, or leave them for stereo?

For quad I have the Dual 1229Q TT, a Marantz 4270 Receiver, a Marantz 4300 on the way, and a Marantz CD-400B demodulator. I still need to pick up the plug in SQA decoder for the receiver.
Jim

Try Ed Saunders. He has reasonable cartridges. Also, you might want to check the Bay for some quadraphonic CD-4 compatible cartridges.

MTGC (Michael)

Hi,

I have a Dual 1225, which like your 1229Q is also wired for cd-4.
I am using it with a Grado blue prestige cartridge and stylus. It decodes perfectly. I took the setup to QuadBobs and he tried it out with several known difficult cd-4 records. Each time, this setup was able to decode the carrier signal.
So in short, I would reccomend a Grado cartridge to you, it is in your price range.

Jeff

Thanks guys
Please keep the suggestions coming
I have been searching but most of the posts are several years old. I don't know how current the info is.
Here are some more subjective questions.

Is the Audio Technica AT331LP still a good choice?
I can pick up a genuine new cartridge / stylus for about $160.

How does it compare to the AT15sa?