QRX-9001 Problem(s)?! Advice?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Relayer

Hi all,

This is my first post, but I've been reading for quite a while... I'm a novice with quad, or high end audio/electronics in general -- not really an audiophile, just a big 70s music fan.

This summer I started reading about quad (mostly on the sleeves of some lovely CTI quads a friend was selling) and ended up taking the plunge -- I bought myself a beautiful QRX-9001 through Ebay (along with one of those CD-4 cartridges from Ed Saunders for my Dual 1229) and life in quad has totally exceeded my wildest expectations.

I knew it would be a huge step up from my Denon 5.1 setup, but I was totally blown away by the Sansui sound. Using the same speakers really brought home how important a good receiver is.

Anyways, on to the problem: channels are cutting out on me!

When I first got the unit, the right channel was cutting in and out a lot, and sometimes crackling a bit.

I was advised to leave the unit on 24/7, and doing this seemed to clear things up nicely (magically!). [As an aside, is this recommended? I understand switching an amplifier on and off is hard on it, but is this really the best practice (I worry about the "wasted hours" I'm putting on it)?]

Recently, the left channel has started cutting out a lot (the right is now rock solid, though). At first I thought it was the headshell on my turntable, because I didn't notice the problem when I played CDs... but now I'm experiencing the problem in all modes (tuner and all). It'll stay off for half the duration of a CD... sometimes it'll come in and out for a few seconds at a time, but more often it'll come on and then remain on for the rest of the time.