The Tacet Thread (Reviews/Latest News & Releases/General Discussion)

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi folks. I’d welcome some opinions on the titles below from those who own them. Also, I notice that many Tacet titles are available in multiple formats (Blu-ray, DVD-A and/or SACD). Beyond personal preference have you found any advantage in one format over another regarding content? Thanks in advance!

Bach: Six Brandenburg Concertos
Maurice Ravel: La Valse, Ma mere l'Oye, Tzigane, Bolero, Pavane
Beethoven Symphonies No. 7 & 8 - Polish Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra
Auryn Series 16: Brahms String Quartets

I'm not a classical music aficionado, but I own several Tacet surround discs, including the DVDA of Bach's six Brandenburg Concertos and the SACD of Beethoven's 7th & 8th Symphonies. I won't comment on the performance of these pieces because I'm not an expert, but I will say that I enjoy them both very much. An expert might say, "They took that passage too quickly...", but I'm not that guy.

As far as surround presentation of classical music goes, if you want something beyond the "instruments in the front, ambience in the back" aesthetic of most classical surround recordings, you simply cannot go wrong with Tacet recordings. That being said, you won't get the level of "discreteness" that you get from, for example, the L.A.G.Q.; these are ensemble recordings, so there is ALWAYS bleed from other channels. So you can shove your face in front of the right rear speaker, for example, and hear a lot of what's going on in the front speakers, but when that trumpet comes in it's gonna blow your head off. It is a lot like - well, pretty much exactly like, I would imagine - standing in the middle of the room when the recordings were made.