media players 095

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

holland123

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Ok G,
so I've taken your media player 101, 102, and 103 classes a few times now, (thank you for all the info by the way). Some of it i must confess i Really don't understand. i am not too tech savvy but i can easily see that the future of multimedia playback is located right here within these threads. I am very interested. So i have some questions for you that may seem rather stupid. But please bear with me.
1. The intel nuc offers 3 different versions with a $200 cost spread for me from top model to bottom model. If i plan on using this to put my surround music, stereo music and movies on and simple play back of these files only. (no internet surfing, operational software usage, other than the player program, which model do i want and why? (i have way more stuff than even the larger nuc will store)
2. Which brings me to my next question. Am i correct in assuming that you can connect through usb plugs an external hard drive, and possibly 2 hard drives piggybacked, and play directly from the files on those external drive(s)? and...
3. Is there another system besides this nuc that i should consider? ( That nuc however seems pretty cool).

G my friend please try to answer without using technical abbreviations for some of these computer things because I'm actually an idiot and i honestly don't know what an ssd is or abc or an xyz. I do know the basics: hdmi, usb, hdd. By the way if you run into my old lady please don't tell her i admitted i was an idiot :) K

Glad to help out Kevin. Hopefully other QQ members will follow this too.