The Cautionary Tale of Cox McQueen: New Surround Music

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DJMantra

Hi, I am absolutely new to the world of surround music (I joined the forum yesterday).

I am a music producer of many years standing and have worked on many different styles and genres over the decades. I recently posted an excerpt from a Proggy type concept album that I recently released entitled "The Cautionary Tale of Cox McQueen" written and sung by Sharam Gill on Facebook. One of the comments I received was would it be available in Quad? I thought about this and realized I pretty much had the equipment to attempt a surround mix. So two days later, after scratching my head, cobblsing together a monitor system from my studio equipment and buying a Centre speaker this morning, I have come up with a mix of the first single to released from the album in 5.1 surround!

I have no idea how it stacks up against surround releases and have no way of auditioning the results other than in my home grown system in my studio. I am using a pair of Dynaudio BM15A's as the front pair, a pair of Tannoy 635's as rear surround, a Mackie Sub-woofer and a Monitor Audi C150 Centre speaker. The Dynaudios and sub are active powered and I am using a Luxman L2 to power the Tannoys and an old JVC component amp to power the centre channel. The six discrete channels are fed from my Yamaha 02R96 which is in turn fed by my MOTU 2408 mk3 via ADATs from my PC running Cubase 10 Pro and Soundforge Pro 12.

I have tried as best I can to set the levels using an 80db pink noise signal and a measurement microphone at the listening position and have lifted the sub by 10db as per some reading I have done.

As I said, I have no idea as to whether this mix is any good but I was hoping that as many of you as possible would download it and give me your thoughts.