Audacity export problems...

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GOS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Hmm - I thought I was an Audacity expert (sort of). And, I swore I've done this a few times before....

I have a single album in 1 single flac file. All songs are there, only they are not split into their respective songs. It is a multi-channel file.
I import the 35 minute flac file into Audacity. (Yes, I can see all the individual tracks, aka "channels" with their individual waveforms)

I do what I've done a zillion times, and I manually add a label track for each song. I then try to export......
I notice if I choose "export multiple", it will go straight to exporting (after flashing through metadata screen showing me each newly assigned track label I gave). But, the result gives me some sort of single channel output (not multi), but is correctly split into songs.

If I choose "export selected audio", it shows me a "mock-up" of all of the channels and their assignments (multi-channel, just like I want)....but when it pops open the metadata screen, it only shows me 1 title.....as if it's simply going to export 1 large file. Which.....it does. But, it's in multi-channel. Just not split into songs. Ugh....

Anyone know what I'm suddenly doing wrong? Or am I incorrect in thinking I've done this before?

The "export multiple" setting has never worked for me. I usually import my album-long multichannel file, add my track labels, and then highlight each individual track and select "export selected audio".

OK, so yeah. You've done it too...and it works. Only, I can't get it to work for some damn reason...makes no sense. Guess I could kill the job and import it again and see what's up.

Hmm - I thought I was an Audacity expert (sort of). And, I swore I've done this a few times before....