Recording CD-4

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello All,

I have an Audio Technica LP-120, a recently installed, (and working), 4MD-20X Cart and Shibata Stylus, a QRX-9001, a Tascam 34-B and some CD-4 Albums.
I have some limited experience using Audacity.
I want to record the CD-4 albums to Audacity, ( to enable some pop and click control), and then record the cleaned up recording to tape on the Tascam.
Technically I am deficient here as I don't know how to record 4 channels through my 2 channel computer sound card to Audacity, and how to get Audacity to record four channels.
I am looking for advise/ suggestions as to best perform this feat. I could go direct to the Tascam from the QRX-9001 but would have no control of any pops and clicks that I cannot wash off of the recording.

Thanks for any help/suggestions.

Hi There! You will need a multichannel sound card or interface. If you have the computer wired to the 9001, you can play the files directly without the cost of tape and the analogue degradation of returning the file to tape. You can also make digital discs to play the music as well. I understand the appeal of playing analogue sources but it will be better quality if you play the digital source instead. Mixtapes can be cool though.

There are lots of Threads about recording Quad. Our members have used this box. There are other type boxes and always shop around. Once you get your files recorded, there are many playback options.

Last edited: