Bruce Soord is releasing his second solo album "All This Will Be Yours" (5.1 DVD)

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
As good as this album may be, having to spend ~35 pounds (well over $50.00 US with shipping) to get 2 CDs and 1 lossy DVD surround mix is just too much, even with a 10" hard bound book. Compare this to the recent Stormwatch bookset from Jethro Tull: 4 cds, 2 dvd's, surround mix, live concert, plus a lavish hard bound color book all for ~27 pounds (~$35.00 US), and the value to cost ratio of this boxset is hard to justify. I'd happily purchase a 5.1 download or a more simply packaged 2CD/1DVD set for about half the price, but for now I'm passing.
ExACTly...

I'm no expert but I suppose the cost must be determined by the expected demand as I would assume that a smaller run will increase the cost per item. Certainly the recent sets from the Dukes of Stratosphear and King Crimson (Crimson King) provide better value per £ but a guess they are aimed at a wider market.
It seems a chicken and egg scenario. My guess is that a slimmed down set (2cds and a dvd in a slipcase) will be cheaper and will sell more units.

Deluxe set arrived from Burning Shed today, nice package. Yes a bit pricey but between Bruce, Kscope and of course the Shed I've no real problem my money is going to people I like to support.

In the queue, should get a 5.1 listen this weekend, and I'll rip over to the trusty ol' iPod for playing in the car.

Got mine from the Shed today as well! Book arrived without any dents--Yay!--although as has been my experience with most of these pricey import books (with a couple of exceptions like Hand Cannot and Your Wilderness) the content is underwhelming.