Focusrite Scarlett review - STAY AWAY!!!!!

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm definitely intrigued by that Tascam, the price is reasonable also IMO, the SD cards are an extra cost, but my Computer has built-in slots for those and I've had some Tascam gear in the past that was decent.

I've got a new MOTU UltraLite-mk4 I use with Win. 7 Pro. via USB 2.0; just started learning this sort of transfer, so I have limited experience to relay here on this thread. I've just been converting direct analog from my Surround Master v2 and out USB to the computer to make Up-mixes. Hopefully some conversions from QS/SQ and CD-4's in the future. So far so good. The only glitch I've had was having several apps open at once (i.e. AA3, Audacity & Foobar200) and something tied up the audio for monitoring and I wasn't getting any sound. Had to shut everything down and re-boot and it was fine again. Just a re-boot can do wonders (but yeah, still a hassle.)
I'm a little nervous about Microsoft shutting off support for Win. 7; because it's been a decent OS for me. However the Wasapi sound drivers for multi-channel are a joke IMO; just can't get it to work with the apps.