Surround mix style - what do you prefer?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi,

So if you seen my intro post you'll know that I'm a semi-pro musician and audio engineer and I'm just getting into surround.

I'd like to know (for the purpose of guiding my own mixes) what style of surround mix you prefer. From what I've gathered, the distinct styles are...

- Stereo mix with a bit of reverb in the rears (highest compatability accross systems)
- 'In the middle of the band' mix like the band are in a circle around you (less compatable with smaller speakers, especially if a sub is providing most of the bass)
- Completely abstract 'anything anywhere' (can be difficult with less capable systems)

I was listeneing to Mike Oldfield's 'Return to Ommadawn' at the weekend and was a bit mesmerised by how it sounded mixed over all five areas (5.1) - particularly intersting to move around the room and get a different perspective.

Welcome!

First, a good amount of the members on this forum (as the name suggests) have vintage Quadraphonic equipment and probably a couple shelves full of Quad tapes or LP's from back in the day. As such, discreet surround is the preferred version. I would say, a majority of "this" population does not like front-centric with reverb for the rear channels. (though Classical type music makes great advantage of such styles.....and many concert recordings seem to do this)

Then, there are surround recordings that utilize more of an immersive touch (with much less ping-pong, or super discreet elements popping out of speakers.

I love them both, immersive and discreet. Steven Wilson "can" be the king of discreet and someone like Eliott Scheiner has done some amazing immersive type releases. Though, that's not necessarily his signature as I've heard discreet from him as well.