FM Radio - what's it like in your area?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
US radio sounds pretty bleak. Do you not have plays, documentaries, comedy shows, panel games, live concerts, book readings, arts reviews, investigative journalism, supported young musicians, music festivals, in-house orchestras? Please tell me there’s live cricket!
Used to catch the news from Lake Wobegon whenever I could

For you lesser non New Orleans residents, you are allowed access through wwoz.org...
Love that station (enough to be a monthly supporter!) I've been listening for many years since "Treme" was on HBO. I later watched a few episode and was shocked to find out 'OZ was the station depicted in the series!
I'll also give a shout out to 89.3 KUVO in Denver which plays everything from Mariachi to blues, jazz and one of my favorite shows The R&B Jukebox on Saturday nights.
Other than that, I listen to sports talk and SiriusXM, occasionally spinning my way through the FM dial in vain hopes of finding something good to listen to. iHeart and the other corporate pigs have strangled the life out of local radio

Last edited:
No radio for me - ever. I listen to music as much as possible - in the shower, on walks, on the deck drinking a brew, anytime I drive - an it’s never the radio. It’s either CDs or my iPod in the car or streaming Amazon Music thru a UE Boom otherwise, unless I’m listening to music on my main system. As far as I’m concerned, I want to be in charge of what I’m listening, not some disc jockey.

If I had to give up TV or radio, I’d happily ditch the TV. I get the majority of my news, entertainment and music via the radio. I can’t imagine life without it. The TV ? – I couldn’t care less.