What's the latest Multichannel SACD or DVD-A added to your pile? - Volume 2

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am awaiting delivery on a lightly used copy of Jeff Wayne's War of the Worlds SACD.
I have heard good things about the surround mix...and have liked the album since I first owned it waaaaaay back when on cassette. I have owned it on cd since it was first released in that format.

I am fairly new to surround sound, only have 70 plus 5.1 mixes but this is one of the best, you wont be disappointed

Midnight Love SACD.jpeg

I picked this up mainly to hear "Sexual Healing" in surround, not really being familiar with the rest of the album. The barrage of sequenced drums, synth horns, and other dated sounds in the opening track definitely took me by surprise! The '80s are strong with this one.

The 5.1 mix is decent, but not spectacular: I would've preferred to have stuff like the rhythm guitars and backing vocals assigned solely to the rear speakers instead of like half-way between the front & rear pairs. There are some isolated elements back there though, usually synth and/or percussion.

Katatonia - Dethroned.jpeg

I kinda wrote these guys off after sampling The Great Cold Distance (too heavy for my tastes), but I really like this one. The style is similar to Opeth's Damnation album or some of Steven Wilson's mellower compositions--think "My Ashes", "Collapse The Light Into Earth", "Insurgentes", etc.

The surround mix is encoded as straight 4.1, like Jethro Tull's This Was. If you rip it and open in your DAW of choice, you will only see five tracks (FL, FR, LFE, RL, RR). It's a nice mix: not very 'aggressive', but there are isolated keyboards and backing vocals popping up in the rear speakers.