American Groups/Artists in Surround , Most CONCERNING.......

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
As an American artist myself I pinpoint 3 reasons.

1. Streaming has become king. That's fine and all, but physical sales (aside from vinyl) are at an all time low because no major US retailer carries CDs anymore.

2. Presence of AV receivers in the US market. At one point it was well over 50% of households. Again, due to streaming, it's probably very low. Compared to ten years ago, I can't find a single person in my area with a receiver now.

3. American artists do not have good decision making skills. Especially when it comes to mixing/surround. Examples: Silverline Label, John Mayer, Majority of the Apple Spatial Audio releases, etc.

But Mr. A., we cannot discount American remix 'artists' such as Elliot Scheiner, Bob Clearmountain and of course all those wonderful QUAD magicians from the 70's whose QUAD remixes are, IMO, SUPERB.

And then those HOLLYWOOD remix artists ...... Ou La LA!

Neither of my sons have an AVR, 31 and 29 years old. Obviously, they grew up in a house where audio equipment was mandatory....and still.......amazing......

Hmm , that's interesting , Gene .
Both of mine have access to an AVR and plenty of surround movies , and some surround recordings.
BTW , They are in their late 30's.
When they were young I took them to used record stores and taught them how to recognize various Quad emblems on the front and back of albums.
A boring sport , but exciting when you find one.

I also taught them how to switch on the quad decoders , connected to my amp and preamp and Russound QT 1, and did they ever learn quickly . Not even their Mom knew how , but they would show her.