Welcome Thread: New Members please introduce yourself here

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi everyone, just joined today - after maybe a year or so of lurking!

My name is Mike and I'm a musician, producer and Lecturer in Music Technology. Over the past few years I've been working more and more with ambisonics and my adventures into multichannel mixing and production has lead me here!

The research I'm doing at the moment is into the 'other' quad format Ambisonic UHJ - so would be really keen to chat with anyone who listens to has any thoughts and/or experiences to share about the format. I am also a bit of a vinyl junkie, bass player and general lover of the alternative side of the 80s - so any listening recommendations for new wave stuff in surround would be most welcome!

Looking forward to chatting more and contributing to the forums!

So, Apple Spatial audio is compatible with Dolby Pro Logic, you can use it outside of the Apple system? Does it sound the same, or the effect is reduced?
No more questions, I promise.
Not sure about that one. One thing you could try is stop by an Apple store and test out their super high end headphones that they have (like $500-700) and demo them with some spatial audio they have. It’s pretty impressive for a set of headphones and you’ll be able to experience what Atmos mix can do.

So, Apple Spatial audio is compatible with Dolby Pro Logic, you can use it outside of the Apple system? Does it sound the same, or the effect is reduced?
No more questions, I promise.
I don't think DPLII is compatible with spatial, but there is a newer Dolby upmixer that includes the height speakers in the algorithm that will upmix stereo or 5.1 to faux Atmos.