TIDAL issue with ATMOS...

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bob Romano

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Since 2002/2003
So I got a trial subscription of Tidal now that it will play Atmos to my receiver though Apple 4k TV. However, when switching tracks the display on my receiver will switch from Atmos to stereo at each track change. Then it goes back to Atmos. This causes a glitch and each track start is cut off. Is there a setting on the 4k box that will fix this. I have the box plugged into my receiver via HDMI. Is there a better connection to be made somehow? I really wanted to see if there was any difference between apple music and tidal at this point. Thanks

So I got a trial subscription of Tidal now that it will play Atmos to my receiver though Apple 4k TV. However, when switching tracks the display on my receiver will switch from Atmos to stereo at each track change. Then it goes back to Atmos. This causes a glitch and each track start is cut off. Is there a setting on the 4k box that will fix this. I have the box plugged into my receiver via HDMI. Is there a better connection to be made somehow? I really wanted to see if there was any difference between apple music and tidal at this point. Thanks
the start of tracks gets cut off with Atmos in Apple Music as well.

i guess some (thanks to HDMI, that Steve Jobs hated so much!) handshake implementation issue in the Apple TV makes the Atmos decoder in an AVR kick in, momentarily kick out and then kick back in again, causing the bursts of silence and cut-off's?

why do i think this? well, for at least three reasons;

firstly, at some point there was an ATV update where it magically stopped cutting off the start of tracks!
however with the next update the cutoff's were back and further updates have done nothing to address it.