Does anyone here still use cassettes?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
You can thank Philips, and their insistence that all cassette recordings be compatible with all cassette players. The only way you could have recorded in Involve quad would to have had the encoder feeding the recorder; the encoder fed from the output of a multichannel mixing board. Philips blew it on that one; the cassette could have done so much more.
I’m guessing 1977, I was working at a company called GYYR (pronounced “guy-er”) on a cassette recorder intended for courtroom transcriptions. It ran at 15/16 ips and used four discrete channels - one each for witness, judge, prosecution and defense. I think it made money, but didn’t set that market on fire. As an engineering technician, I designed the interface circuits between the processor and the reel motors. It looked like it was designed by someone as a first effort, because it was exactly that. But it never had any issues that I was told about.

Last edited:
Ah but then there was the discrete 4 channel cassette recorders from TASCAM. I think there were at least a couple of different levels/models but the one my neighbor had looked like this:

View attachment 87981

As he moved into the digital age we played back over this & I copied to digital. The audio was surprisingly good.The unit did indeed record in 4 individual chs with good track bouncing for even more FX. But of course the musicians using this didn't use it for quad, it was always mixed down to stereo.
I remember reading the Eurythmics first album used a lot of audio recorded on a TASCAM cassette deck. Just simply because some of the music was already done & ready to go, and the quality was decent enough.

No idea if/what kind of NR was used.