Welcome Thread: New Members please introduce yourself here

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Greetings music lovers and friends! My good friend Gil asked me to join and to help with understanding the musical potential of atmos, and the role of mastering atmos. My room is 7.1.4 with Evolution Acoustics MM3 Exact plus Micro Ones. Amps are Allnic Audio A-6000 monos x 2 and 9 ch of Parasound A51, with 2 SVS subs in series. All controlled by Trinnov DMon 12. Speakers are tuned by me in the software to match the curve of the LR mains with no software, so as to mirror the sound of the natural (no DSP) stereo playback. Bricast M1SE converters, which I tuned for Bricasti, used primarily. Fire away with question or concerns about mastering stereo or atmos.
Welcome Brian.
I have a question about mastering for Tidal, maybe other streaming services. Tidal DD+ Atmos is all I'm familiar with though.
I've noticed that even across an album, the volume from song to song can change so much. One may be (just making up numbers here) dialnorm -31, another -21.
Why does that happen? It's very irritating.
Note that I'm not speaking about Blu Ray Discs, I've seldom seen that happen in that case.
Thanks.

Hello! I've been a member/lurker on here for a long time and wanted to finally introduce myself!

Hi. I'm Tim. I live in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. I work as a software developer, and before that a full-time DJ/event promoter, who also dabbled in music production.

I love all styles of music and have found this site invaluable building up my home system and my library.

Looking forward to contributing more!

Setup:
Pioneer VSX-LX504 configured as 7.1.4 with various random speakers
ATV 4K
Sony UBP-800m2

Hello all,

I’m Pierre from Paris. I really appreciate surround sounds, especially ambiant sounds and experimental music.