Atmos Ceiling Speaker Position

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stupy

QQ Supporter
Good Evening All,

After years of uncertainly I am joining the club and taking the plunge into Atmos. I recognise a lot of people around here are a lot more technical than myself so hope I might seek a small amount of advice on precise speaker positioning :)

I am not an audio professional; but aim to create a 5.1.4 immersive setup in a pre-existing "media room." It was not my house when built but I did get a couple of wires through to help put in place a 5.1 unit (this was before Atmos took off). This turned out to be great fortune because I was able to get four additional wires through the existing gaps - in theory, I am all good for wiring (!).

The room itself is somewhat limited. I cannot really put the system in any other direction without major building works (not an option). There are windows/doors etc.

My main reference points to date have been:
- Dolby's 5.1.4 info at 5.1.4 Overhead Speaker Setup
- Krix IC-32 installation guide from IC-32 (Hemispherix A20) | Krix (top of consideration list for speakers - I hope the ceiling can take the weight...)

Attached is a diagram of the available space with measurements in mm. My query relates to the ideal placement of the four ceiling speakers - shown in read fluffy clouds by FTL, FTR, RTL and RTR. I am thinking an equal distance in front of and behind the downlights. How FAR in front of and behind... I can guess; but I am curious for thoughts. What do you think?

I suspect that on one hand the speakers need to be further apart for effect, but then they start getting close to walls. Of course I will be limited by what is in the ceiling, but I am still back at nailing the concepts at the moment.