Media Players 103: Kodi File and Folder Organisation/Storage

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
try right clicking on an existing source and look for a delete option to delete a source you want to remove. What operating system does your device use?

Well, the device is probably more like an Nvidia Shield than a NUC. I believe it's Linux-based and runs OSMC and/or Kodi. I was finally able to locate the USB drive in the relevant dialog box in a folder titled "media" and updated my library. I'm new to Kodi, and some of this has been counter-intuitive, at least for me. Hopefully, I'll catch on.

I'm new to Kodi, and some of this has been counter-intuitive, at least for me. Hopefully, I'll catch on.

Much of Kodi is counterintuitive at best. It's pretty straightforward once you get it configured and are up and running, but a lot of that configuration is just plain painful. I feel the same way about JRiver, though Kodi has the advantage of not charging for the confusion. :)

I'd love to be wrong about this, but as far as I can tell the biggest hole in Kodi is that it doesn't detect changed metadata during a rescan. If you make a change that you want picked up and put into the database, you'll not only need to change the metadata but also either change the file name or temporarily move it elsewhere, "Clean" then rescan. Some kind of "Wipe everything and start from scratch" function would be incredibly useful to me.

I'm criticizing, but I use it every day and haven't found anything better. You'll get used to it.

Much of Kodi is counterintuitive at best. It's pretty straightforward once you get it configured and are up and running, but a lot of that configuration is just plain painful. I feel the same way about JRiver, though Kodi has the advantage of not charging for the confusion. :)