Amazon Music and Apple Atmos listening

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fearandloath

I'm brand new here but have been an avid listener of surround music since the first DVD-A releases. I'm also older and pretty set on physical media. I have a nice 11.2 Atmos system with a Denon receiver and Sony Universal 4K player. I have been getting upset the last 2 years because of some great surround releases available only for streaming, especially with the streaming surround release of Revolver. I have a subscription to Amazon Music and cannot get their Atmos mixes to stream through my system. It only comes through as stereo. I have been in contact with Amazon and they offer no solution or explanation. I don't think they even know how their own system works. My question is... can I stream Amazon Music through my system and get the Atmos mixes? Some things I read suggest I need special speakers or headphones. Is this a true Atmos mix or something similar to an artificial mix that just spreads the sound around? Are the mixes high resolution? Is it even worth the effort? Also would Apple be any better at this than Amazon? I don't want to subscribe to a second service if it is no better than the first. I'm sorry if I'm repeating something here, but as I've said I'm new and getting frustrated with this Atmos streaming.

Welcome,
There are many here more advanced than myself, you will get some good answers.
I do not stream Amazon Music, and from what I have heard Amazon Music has just started adding Atmos content. I have been waiting on the sidelines to see how that shakes out.