Apple Joining the Atmos streaming game!

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

jonfo

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2012
Messages
22
Location
Big Canoe, GA
I enjoyed listening to Booka Shade's Galvany Street on Tidal in Atmos and disappointed it's only on Apple Music in stereo.
I hope the Atmos version shows up soon, as this album, as well as 'Dear Future Self' are amazingly active Immersive audio mixes. I have the BluRays, and in full high-rez Atmos, they are the go-to demo tracks.

These were mixed by the same engineer/studio that mixed Yello - Point, which is another demo-rich album (I also have the BR).

FYI- for those with Tidal subs, the Booka Shade albums are available in Atmos there.
 

jonfo

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2012
Messages
22
Location
Big Canoe, GA
Are any of you using your Apple box via wi-fi & if so are you finding it stops playing ?
I'm in the networking business, and I never, ever stream anything over wifi. All set-tops are hardwired, zero problems.
But I also have an IQrouter to ensure any Bufferbloat is eliminated. So you might be suffering from Bufferbloat. Use the dslreports.com/speedtest from a wired computer (or stand right next to the router) and if get a C or worse bufferbloat grade, time for a better router.
 

beerking

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Messages
4,106
Location
Wantage, Oxfordshire ..UK
Hi guys,

Are any of you using your Apple box via wi-fi & if so are you finding it stops playing ?
Hi
I am , got occasional stutter and then wondered why after 15 mins it sleeps :rolleyes: :D
Got me noggin thinking and realised the box comes with that set as default...der...it's on never now!!
As for the Wi- Fi, that has calmed down, since initial use.
There is very occasionally, a mili second delay but seems OK now.
So pleased I bought, the not so cheap box, it is opening up so much more, in glorious surround.
:QQlove
 

Toto4Ever

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2018
Messages
190
Location
U.K.
I'm in the networking business, and I never, ever stream anything over wifi. All set-tops are hardwired, zero problems.
But I also have an IQrouter to ensure any Bufferbloat is eliminated. So you might be suffering from Bufferbloat. Use the dslreports.com/speedtest from a wired computer (or stand right next to the router) and if get a C or worse bufferbloat grade, time for a better router.
Thanks for your reply. My router & phone point are on the other side of the room. Should a Ethernet cable be going from my Apple box into the router ? Excuse my technical ignorance. ( Also, when my brother is here using his laptop, it’s so bad I can’t use it - he is using his laptop over wi-fi, out of no choice, due to logistics. )
 

Toto4Ever

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2018
Messages
190
Location
U.K.
Hi
I am , got occasional stutter and then wondered why after 15 mins it sleeps :rolleyes: :D
Got me noggin thinking and realised the box comes with that set as default...der...it's on never now!!
As for the Wi- Fi, that has calmed down, since initial use.
There is very occasionally, a mili second delay but seems OK now.
So pleased I bought, the not so cheap box, it is opening up so much more, in glorious surround.
:QQlove
Yes, I’m loving the music, like yourself. ( Having a really relaxing session with Boz Scaggs, presently, not personally ! :) ;) )

I didn’t know that. I’ll have to look at the settings. Thinking about it, it’s been periods of about 15 - 20 minutes. Not all the time though.
 
Last edited:

temporaryhuman

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
149
Location
Sweden and UK
Thanks for your reply. My router & phone point are on the other side of the room. Should a Ethernet cable be going from my Apple box into the router ? Excuse my technical ignorance. ( Also, when my brother is here using his laptop, it’s so bad I can’t use it - he is using his laptop over wi-fi, out of no choice, due to logistics. )
Ethernet goes from apple into router. Then seperate cable my AVR into apple.
 

Toto4Ever

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2018
Messages
190
Location
U.K.
I am streaming via WiFi without any issues. My router is in basement and my Apple TV is in living room on first floor.
Oh right. Logically, it should be possible, because what’s the point of wi-fi, if this were a constant issue ?

Instead of running a cable, look into a powerline adapter.
Thanks for advice. Will look into that. ( For now, I have switched off the sleep feature that @beerking suggested. )
 

Toto4Ever

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2018
Messages
190
Location
U.K.
Does anyone find the “Spatial Audio”, with Dolby Atmos, term, confusing ??

Is it just an overall term for all the music on Apple or does it just apply to Dolby Atmos titles, or is it even something separate to that ??

For example, I clicked through ”Spatial Audio” categories but they’re not all stating Dolby Atmos. Is it me, or could things be much clearer, better explained ?
 

EricKalet

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
1,066
Location
Yardley, PA
Does anyone find the “Spatial Audio”, with Dolby Atmos, term, confusing ??

Is it just an overall term for all the music on Apple or does it just apply to Dolby Atmos titles, or is it even something separate to that ??

For example, I clicked through ”Spatial Audio” categories but they’re not all stating Dolby Atmos. Is it me, or could things be much clearer, better explained ?
Could be but still much better than the Tidal search. At least with Apple you can do a Boolean search of “spatial audio” and results appear to browse.
 

beerking

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Messages
4,106
Location
Wantage, Oxfordshire ..UK
Does anyone find the “Spatial Audio”, with Dolby Atmos, term, confusing ??

Is it just an overall term for all the music on Apple or does it just apply to Dolby Atmos titles, or is it even something separate to that ??

For example, I clicked through ”Spatial Audio” categories but they’re not all stating Dolby Atmos. Is it me, or could things be much clearer, better explained ?
This may help to explain it in more detail:
 

Toto4Ever

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2018
Messages
190
Location
U.K.
This may help to explain it in more detail:
Thanks my friend, for the link. Read through it all. So it’s an overall term.

I had clicked a Sam Smith track in the Spatial Audio section & it didn’t state Dolby Atmos, but it sounded spacious, more surround like. There’s nothing I haven’t listened to that hasn’t sounded good, but sometimes through speaker listening, some albums can just sound like very good stereo & less spatial, but still showing all the audio detail. ( If I’m explaining well ! ?? )

🤯 Wait, Boz is in Atmos? If so, which Boz?
No, but still sounding like I’ve never quite heard him, before. Just silky smooth….
 

jonfo

Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2012
Messages
22
Location
Big Canoe, GA
Thanks for your reply. My router & phone point are on the other side of the room. Should a Ethernet cable be going from my Apple box into the router ? Excuse my technical ignorance. ( Also, when my brother is here using his laptop, it’s so bad I can’t use it - he is using his laptop over wi-fi, out of no choice, due to logistics. )
You are lucky that the router and ATV are in the same room, so yes, buy a nice long Ethernet cable of sufficient length. There are really nice slim Ethernet cables that are easy to thread under carpets or along baseboards. They come in all kinds of colors as well.

As you can tell when your brother uses their laptop, WiFi is a shared medium, when he is consuming Airtime, the ATVK is waiting, and vise-versa, streaming impacts wifi usage for the others.
But your anecdote also makes me think your line has bufferbloat, so check that per my link above.

For the folks happily streaming over wifi, you likely do not have high levels of local interference or contention, and likely also have a low-latency link already. Some people have to deal with a massive amount of wifi interference, I've seen scan listings showing dozens of AP's, on EACH channel. The listing went on for pages. Even the 5Ghz band had at least one unit on each non-overlapping channel. WiFi 6E can't get here fast enough with its new channels. Those people must use a wired connection to get around the contention/interference.

To put that in audio terms, it is like being at a restaurant where every table has a huge boombox, and they are all playing different types of music at loud levels. Good luck understanding what anyone says at your table.
 

dabl

300 Club - QQ All-Star
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Sep 1, 2003
Messages
352
Can anyone confirm/deny whether Liz Phair "Soberish" is available in Atmos on Apple Music?

Just curious.
 
Top