Apple Music Surround question.

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fearandloath

I'm new to this forum and being older and attached to physical media, I'm new to the music streaming platform. Especially surround music. I have Amazon Music and like the ease and accessibility of it. But I was getting upset because I keep hearing of all these great surround and Atmos mixes being released on streaming with no physical release. I tried to listen to some Atmos mixes from Amazon on my bluetooth ready Denon receiver, but that's an effort in futility. I've given up on Amazon for surround music. Through another question on this forum I decided Apple is the way to go. But I am definitely a Hi-Fi guy so I have a few questions I would like answers to before making the investment. Here goes...

1) At what resolution are these Atmos mixes coming through via streaming? MP3 quality, Standard 44.1/16 or hopefully 24/96?

2) Are these actual Surround or Atmos mixes with discrete channnel placement or just something akin to what I can do using a normal CD and the surround processor on my receiver? Say Dolby Pro Logic. Also are these actual Atmos mixes and not the "Spatial Audio" that some releases on Amazon have. And can somebody please explain the difference. I read so many conflicting things and jargon about I'm not entirely sure.

3) It's says downloading is available. At what resolution would they download and could I transfer to a thumb drive to share with a friend?

4) I understand there are many factors that go into making a great mix but what would you say the general overall quality is of these releases?

As I said I'm an older guy attached to physical media but I am dying to hear some of these surround mixes. Any other info, hints or answers to questions I may have missed would certainly be appreciated.