Can one rip Atmos discs?

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

CINERAMAX

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
287
The panny actually played Xanadu and cinderella man gaplessly from 2 individual files inside a folder. That Part is licked!

But I can use MMH to extract such chapters correct?
 

CINERAMAX

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
287
OK!! Like shooting fish in a barrel thanks to Gary;s MMH. :)

Got a few best songs From ELP, YES and UK. All DTS-HD. Next ATMOS, thanks again!
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
4,124
Location
Melbourne, Australia
To play Atmos you’ll need to create a file that can contain an Atmos stream that your panny can play.

For audio only playback:
MMH tool ‘Extract Audio from MKV’ can do that as an MKA or M4A file but your panny probably can’t play m4a files with Atmos.

For video just use mkv
 
Last edited:

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
4,124
Location
Melbourne, Australia
What I need is a way to identify individual chapters within a full video so they show up like what happens with CUE files for music. I use KODI,
There may be a way to this. I'll have a play later today and see.
I just did a quick test something I hoped would work. It didn’t. I’ll look at something else tomorrow.

I‘ve got a way to do it in mind but we’ll need a Kodi developer to help out. I’ll write something up and send it to a couple of devs that do Kodi music. If they were to take it on it might get into Kodi 20, the next major release. Of course, they may not be interested or have the time to implement anything.
 

CINERAMAX

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
287
To play Atmos you’ll need to create a file that can contain an Atmos stream that your panny can play.

For audio only playback:
MMH tool ‘Extract Audio from MKV’ can do that as an MKA or M4A file but your panny probably can’t play m4a files with Atmos.

For video just use mkv
As always you were right, not atmos on MKV or MP4 on the panny, but DTS-HD yes but lpcm 7.1 neither, Will give MKA a try.

On the other hand the oppo 203 with the iso mod plays everything I throw at it.;)
 

CINERAMAX

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
287
So I tried the M4A Output but did not work, could it be the kbps output, are there settings for that on MMH?

This should work according to the Panny's owner's manual.
48-328khzps.PNG
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
4,124
Location
Melbourne, Australia
MKA will not work either on you panny if MKV won’t. (Same wrapper).

The M4A files MMH makes have TrueHD streams, not AAC. Only recently TrueHD could be added to M4A so not many devices or players support playback of m4a with TrueHD yet. Old hardware no way if it’s not baked in to the firmware).

Kodi and Foobar (with Foobar‘s ffmpeg plug-in configured for m4a to use ffmpeg) can play m4a with Atmos, truehd and DTS etc).

Looks like you can’t play Atmos on the Panny.
 

CINERAMAX

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
287
Oh well, it was worth a try. :) At least it does mch FLAC and dsf brilliantly on a 115$ player in fantastic quality as good as the 900$ Panny. Thanks again for your guidance.

With my hardware modded oppo it plays everything great. Seamlessly playing the MKV Atmos handpicked chapters consecutively so I got the atmos playlist going that way. Cheers!
 
Top