CD-4 into Sony SQD2020

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hi All,
I'm pretty new to this , but I wondered if anyone could answer the following:
I have a Sony SQD2020 and am using it between a Quad 34 Preamp and two 909 Poweramps. I also want to have the option of CD-4 and wondered if the 'discrete' input on the 2020 would accept the output from a standalone CD-4 demodulator? I don't really want to go down the road of a complete seperate amplifier / reciever.
Also, from a performance point of view - if the above is possible - which of the follwoing would be recommended?
Panasonic SE405
Technics TH400
Maranz CD400B
Many thanks for your time
Joe

That's how I have mine hooked up. JVC 4DD-5 outputs into discrete inputs of the SQD 2020. The four channel outputs of the SQD 2020 into two Pioneer SA 7700s.

Brilliant thanks very much, I was hoping it was that simple. Do you leave it set up as if you're playing SQ ( levels ) or do you change anything?
Cheers
Joe

I have a rather complicated (mixed up) system. The back side looks like someone spilled a bowl of spaghetti back there. I use the SQD 2020 as the main brain and two Sony SB 300 switch boxes to control where each signal goes. SQ, CD 4, Discrete and stereo. Sooo...Yes. I am pushing buttons and flicking switches all the time. Not to mention that I have to re-arrange some connections (RCA) to shift from SQ/Stereo to CD 4 due to the fact that I also have two KLH TNE 7000A s in my system to remove pop, snap and krackles from the records as they are being recorded.

Last edited:
Great thank you, the main thing is its 'do-able'. I managed to get hold of a JVC 4MD 20X which is on its way, so I'll look out for a CD-4 demodulator and see how I get on.
Thanks again for your help.
Joe