Quantcast

DSD Capability

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

par4ken

900 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
May 28, 2011
Messages
947
Location
NW Ontario
What oppo model are you using @par4ken?

I can get all my dsf files to show the album jpgs if they are labeled "folder.jpg" but also check those that are stubborn in Mp3tag that you properly associate the folder.jpg file by having the files highlighted and then remember to "save" when all the songs are highlighted. That usually does it for me (205 model) but if not, then I don't know or maybe something happens during the ripping process?

Also, I believe the oppo doesn't mix down the songs in 5.1 but just strips out the other channels; but yes please check that out :unsure:
I'm using the BDP-103. I checked the files again with MP3tag and all looked good, I clicked on save again just to be sure. The cover is imbedded in the file on all tracks and so should always show up when the file is played. The cover image is in the same folder labelled as folder and so should show up even if not imbedded in the file itself. I haven't noticed this problem with any PCM file.

The player is supposed to mix the channels down (set under settings) if say you don't have all the speakers, centre and or surround connected. Likewise the back speakers in 7.1 are supposed to be mixed down to the side speakers for 5.1 playback. One peculiarity that I found is if you say that you have back speakers but not side you won't get any output from the back outputs while playing 5.1; you have to say that you have side speakers instead. Because of all this craziness I'm still thinking of building a mixer to take all the outputs and to combine them myself as I see fit!

Is there a difference with dsd vs pcm regarding mixdown? Is there a test SACD available with channel identification signals? That would be the best way to determine what the player is doing regarding mixdown. One could rip the disc and see what happens with the dsf files as well.
 
Last edited:

gene_stl

Senior Member
QQ Supporter
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
246
Location
St.Louis
If you decide to build a mixer lets see about doing it together as a project. My current thinking is that three or possibly four very simple stereo selectors could be used. Relay based ones might be easier to gang together but if you were willing to turn three or four knobs it might be simpler with less chance for noise pickup.








A stack of three or four of these might be fun although starting to get pricey.


wireless for $68

video boxes have three connections so two would service a 5.1 with four inputs. Have to check if there is some kind of different resistor in the video channel.



Five selections , built need three or four
 
Last edited:

Kal Rubinson

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
2,002
Location
NYC/CT
Is there a test SACD available with channel identification signals? That would be the best way to determine what the player is doing regarding mixdown. One could rip the disc and see what happens with the dsf files as well.
Sure. There are such channel ID tracks on many and various MCH test/demo discs. I like the ones on the DMP disc: Various - DMP Multichannel Reference SACD. However, it like all SACDs is limited to 5.1.

If you need 7.1, you need to locate DVD/BD test discs.
 

Kal Rubinson

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
2,002
Location
NYC/CT

par4ken

900 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
May 28, 2011
Messages
947
Location
NW Ontario
If you decide to build a mixer lets see about doing it together as a project. My current thinking is that three or possibly four very simple stereo selectors could be used. Relay based ones might be easier to gang together but if you were willing to turn three or four knobs it might be simpler with less chance for noise pickup.
 

par4ken

900 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
May 28, 2011
Messages
947
Location
NW Ontario
f you decide to build a mixer lets see about doing it together as a project. My current thinking is that three or possibly four very simple stereo selectors could be used. Relay based ones might be easier to gang together but if you were willing to turn three or four knobs it might be simpler with less chance for noise pickup.
My thinking was an active circuit using op-amps. The level of each signal to be mixed in could be adjusted, as well as it's position. I was even thinking of using a quad joy stick to position the center channel, center front or full center or even to be able to pan it to the rear. I would want to mix the sub bass into all channels equally, or perhaps more to the rear on mixes that have little surround content. Being adjustable you could play with the settings to find a mix setting that you like. Anyway still in the thinking stage![/QUOTE]
 

steelydave

Moderator
Staff member
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Apr 21, 2002
Messages
2,165
Location
Toronto, ON
I had an issue with tagging artwork to .dsf files in mp3tag too - it ended up the issue was afterward, I was opening them in foobar to apply ReplayGain calculations, and in doing that for some reason it deletes the embedded artwork.

My workflow now is do all the text tagging in mp3tag, open files in foobar and do ReplayGain calculations, then open again in mp3tag and apply and save the embedded artwork.

This is only an issue with .dsf files - I have tens of thousands of flacs, and a handful of lossy format files (mp3, etc.) and applying ReplayGain to them doesn't delete the artwork.
 

par4ken

900 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
May 28, 2011
Messages
947
Location
NW Ontario
I had an issue with tagging artwork to .dsf files in mp3tag too - it ended up the issue was afterward, I was opening them in foobar to apply ReplayGain calculations, and in doing that for some reason it deletes the embedded artwork.

My workflow now is do all the text tagging in mp3tag, open files in foobar and do ReplayGain calculations, then open again in mp3tag and apply and save the embedded artwork.

This is only an issue with .dsf files - I have tens of thousands of flacs, and a handful of lossy format files (mp3, etc.) and applying ReplayGain to them doesn't delete the artwork.
The thing is that the artwork is still embedded in all the files. The artwork shows up when played in Foobar . It's just that some folders don't display the artwork in the Oppo. I've only noticed this on .dsf files in the Oppo played via the USB hard drive. I guess that I should drop some flac folders onto the USB drive to see if any of them have the same problem as the .dsf ones. I see that this has been an ongoing issue with the Oppo not always displaying the artwork, there are some other threads here about it as well. Might just have to live with it. It's best to play with the video shut off anyway. There is supposed to be a problem regarding gapless playback as well, I haven't noticed that myself as of yet. I stopped using JR River because it wasn't gapless, but no problem with Foobar!
 

CINERAMAX

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
154
I have been hand tagging to where I think I will become blind DVD a extractor untagged files. Is there an easy way to load the files and run a program? :D I tried foobar 2000. Not ready toadd disc covers quite yet.
 

ted_b

Well-known Member
QQ Supporter
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
139
Location
Denver area
My JRiver videos (specifically part 2) shows how to do mass tagging, but you need a copy of some version of JRiver for it, of course. I even get into their variables (expressions language) that do things like fixing all caps, etc. Lots of metadata that already exist in files (coming from ISO rips, for example) are f'd up, like ALL CAPS screaming. :)

 

sbrom

500 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
573
Location
US
Yes but note that I am playing to the Oppo and not using Oppo's browser/player.
.....
Kal Rubinson said:
That depends on how you connect things. I can play gapless to Oppo via HDMI.
Interesting. To Oppo via HDMI? So JRiver running on a PC, pulling FLAC or DSF individual files, pushing them to the Oppo via HDMI?

I did not know the Oppo could take an HDMI input. I would have thought Ethernet, which is how I’ve used it, but unfortunately without gapless support. So in your setup the other Oppo HDMI sends the resultant to you AVR? If I’ve misinterpreted your system I apologize.
 

Kal Rubinson

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
2,002
Location
NYC/CT
Interesting. To Oppo via HDMI? So JRiver running on a PC, pulling FLAC or DSF individual files, pushing them to the Oppo via HDMI?

I did not know the Oppo could take an HDMI input. I would have thought Ethernet, which is how I’ve used it, but unfortunately without gapless support. So in your setup the other Oppo HDMI sends the resultant to you AVR? If I’ve misinterpreted your system I apologize.
It requires an Oppo that has an HDMI input.
 

par4ken

900 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
May 28, 2011
Messages
947
Location
NW Ontario
So I gave my SACD rip of Scorpions & Berliner Philharmoniker - "Moment Of Glory" another listen and determined that the centre channel does not mix down to the front outputs even though the player is set up for four speakers only. The vocals are still present at the centre output jack. I haven't noticed a problem with any other rips or SACD's. I don't know if the other SACDs that I've auditioned just aren't making much use of the centre channel or if it's something to do with this particular rip. I don't own the disc but would purchase a copy if I could find one at an affordable price, so I don't know if it has anything to do with the rip itself.

Could it be that the mixing is done in the digital domain which works fine for PCM, but that such mixing is not possible with DSD? I suppose that the next step would be to switch SACD playback to PCM instead of DSD to see what happens via downmixing. If the player won't mix DSD then I'm forced back to an analog solution!
 

surroundophile

Surroundophile
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Aug 15, 2003
Messages
434
Location
Chicago
I know the website but where is this issue discussed?
Read the article that I linked. And yes I have used it and it works. The only problem I've encountered is that since my computer uses WiFi, sometimes the music comes out distorted if there's more data than what WiFi can handle, or there's some kind of WiFi interference (my computer is upstairs but the Oppo is in the home theater with the router in the basement)
 

Kal Rubinson

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
2,002
Location
NYC/CT
Read the article that I linked. And yes I have used it and it works. The only problem I've encountered is that since my computer uses WiFi, sometimes the music comes out distorted if there's more data than what WiFi can handle, or there's some kind of WiFi interference (my computer is upstairs but the Oppo is in the home theater with the router in the basement)
I guess that I am confused or forgetful but, as of this moment, I do not even recall what the original problem was. All I can recall was that I didn't think it was a problem.
 
Last edited:

DuncanS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
5,517
Location
UK
So I gave my SACD rip of Scorpions & Berliner Philharmoniker - "Moment Of Glory" another listen and determined that the centre channel does not mix down to the front outputs even though the player is set up for four speakers only. The vocals are still present at the centre output jack. I haven't noticed a problem with any other rips or SACD's. I don't know if the other SACDs that I've auditioned just aren't making much use of the centre channel or if it's something to do with this particular rip. I don't own the disc but would purchase a copy if I could find one at an affordable price, so I don't know if it has anything to do with the rip itself.

Could it be that the mixing is done in the digital domain which works fine for PCM, but that such mixing is not possible with DSD? I suppose that the next step would be to switch SACD playback to PCM instead of DSD to see what happens via downmixing. If the player won't mix DSD then I'm forced back to an analog solution!
Not sure which Oppo you have but the 103 & 203 I have don't allow for a 4.0 mix-down, your amp should do this. From the 103 manual no 4.0 option and in the speaker setup for Off it does say it may discard the audio if it can't redirect (doesn't say why though!)
1607984066631.png
1607984193656.png
 

par4ken

900 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
May 28, 2011
Messages
947
Location
NW Ontario
Not sure which Oppo you have but the 103 & 203 I have don't allow for a 4.0 mix-down, your amp should do this. From the 103 manual no 4.0 option and in the speaker setup for Off it does say it may discard the audio if it can't redirect (doesn't say why though!)
View attachment 60315View attachment 60316
I
But the Oppo 103 does allow for 4.0 playback, 5.1 with no center speaker or sub is quad! With no center speaker that output is supposed to go to both front speakers. Likewise when 5.1 is selected 7.1 back channels are mixed with the surrounds. Yes it says that it may discard the audio if redirection is not possible. Why would it not be possible? I suspect it can't mix DSD the same as it can PCM. IMHO the mixing should be done via analog circuits for the analog outputs!
 
Top