Easier to Rip? DVD or Blu-ray?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jwckauman

if given a choice between purchasing a DVD and a Blu-Ray version of the same 5.1 album mix, which would you prefer from a ripping standpoint? for example, I'm moving on from a DVD-AUDIO playing Acura TSX, to a disc-less Acura TLX, and will need to start ripping my 5.1 mixes in order to hear them in the car. I've got some experience ripping from DVD, but not so much with Blu-Ray audio. I'm asking for some 5.1 mixes for Christmas and wondered if I should purchase the DVD version or the Blu-Ray version, with an eye on having to rip the mix to a file for playing back via USB drive.

if given a choice between purchasing a DVD and a Blu-Ray version of the same 5.1 album mix, which would you prefer from a ripping standpoint? for example, I'm moving on from a DVD-AUDIO playing Acura TSX, to a disc-less Acura TLX, and will need to start ripping my 5.1 mixes in order to hear them in the car. I've got some experience ripping from DVD, but not so much with Blu-Ray audio. I'm asking for some 5.1 mixes for Christmas and wondered if I should purchase the DVD version or the Blu-Ray version, with an eye on having to rip the mix to a file for playing back via USB drive.
Chiming in with my 2 cents:

It'll also depend on the disc drive you're ripping from. For example, I have a LG BD drive that has flashed firmware (i.e., rolled-back firmware to enable 4K disc ripping) and for whatever reason, BD and 4K rips tear along at 6x where DVD rips are slow as (~2x). From what you've typed in your post, I'm guessing that you haven't flashed your BD drive but I've read about some recent Pioneer disc drives that don't require flashing to rip 4K discs, so they're potentially slow on DVD rips too - not sure if you have one of these Pioneer disc drives.