Eurorack Quad Setup and Shakmat Aeolus Demo (Quadraphonic Quark Encoded)

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

MidiMagic

900 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
906

The Scheiber matrix is QS matrix like, but without 90 degree phase shifts, it should be easier to implement in software (or with a mixing board and some phase reversals) than QS.

I haven't worked thru the math of Scheiber encode/QS decode, but it seems like it would be almost indistinguishable from QS encode/decode.

As with QS, the Scheiber matrix could also be decoded with Dolby Pro-Logic decoder(s) and the simple DynaQuad speaker matrix.


Kirk Bayne
A QS decode of the Scheiber encode should have only very minor (probably inaudible) differences:

- The phases of the back channels are 90 deg different with QS than they are with Scheiber.

- The back channels are in phase with each other in QS. They are in opposite phase with Scheiber decode.

The only difference between the Scheiber decode and the EV-4 decode is the parameter values.


The above can decode Scheiber, QS, EV-4, Dynaquad, and Dolby Surround.

Here are some other ideas:

 
Last edited:

mlrocker

600 Club - QQ All-Star
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jul 2, 2016
Messages
609
Location
Daytona Beach Fl
The Aeolus Seeds did not perform as I wanted it to. Seeing 4 inputs and 4 outputs and options for speaker movement etc. I was expecting it to route 4 channels at once, but no. It can do one channel, or two, so it has some value as a track effect, which I will use in remixing. Imagine something like discrete quad set free from channel assignments, like Mary Poppins magic....or something like that. I would have to do the treatment on each track which creates 4 new tracks, then re-render the resulting 16 tracks back to quad. If you know of any software effects that do this let me know. Going into eurorack modular is not an inexpensive endeavor for a hobbyist.
 

ummagumma

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
220
Location
Canada
The Aeolus Seeds did not perform as I wanted it to. Seeing 4 inputs and 4 outputs and options for speaker movement etc. I was expecting it to route 4 channels at once, but no. It can do one channel, or two, so it has some value as a track effect, which I will use in remixing. Imagine something like discrete quad set free from channel assignments, like Mary Poppins magic....or something like that. I would have to do the treatment on each track which creates 4 new tracks, then re-render the resulting 16 tracks back to quad. If you know of any software effects that do this let me know. Going into eurorack modular is not an inexpensive endeavor for a hobbyist.
Interesting, so it is not a true 4 channel quad control module?
 

mlrocker

600 Club - QQ All-Star
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jul 2, 2016
Messages
609
Location
Daytona Beach Fl
still testing
Interesting, so it is not a true 4 channel quad control module?
still testing... try this on


it's one half of a stereo signal on input 1, in mode 1, configuration 1, which outputs on 4 channels in a circular motion, if correctly cabled. 4 file types in this link; flac, wma, ac3, wav; track about 6 minutes long.
 

~dave~~wave~

900 Club - QQ All-Star
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
963
Location
Lincoln, NE USA
The Aeolus Seeds did not perform as I wanted it to. Seeing 4 inputs and 4 outputs and options for speaker movement etc. I was expecting it to route 4 channels at once, but no. It can do one channel, or two, so it has some value as a track effect, which I will use in remixing. Imagine something like discrete quad set free from channel assignments, like Mary Poppins magic....or something like that. I would have to do the treatment on each track which creates 4 new tracks, then re-render the resulting 16 tracks back to quad. If you know of any software effects that do this let me know. Going into eurorack modular is not an inexpensive endeavor for a hobbyist.
Seems like you're getting the hang of it now that you've had a chance to experiment a bit.

Please be assured that it can modulate a quadrophonic source in the same way it does mono or stereo.
I tried it the other night with the Guess Who Wheatfield Soul & Canned Wheat SACD.

As you've discovered, with the depth at minimum, there's no effect, but as it's increased you get a quadrophonic tremolo effect.
By manipulating the both time & depth in real time it became a very trippy on-the-fly "remix" of this classic 60s material.
When I added delay or phasing to the rears, it got even better.

Like any effect, less is more.
I found if I kept the depth low mostly, then increasing it during a chorus, solo, etc. added dynamics.

Same with the time or "speed" control.
Much like a classic Hammond organ player switching speeds on a Leslie.

Enjoy your new gadget.
Much of the fun of Eurorack modules is the "happy accidents" that emerge from just screwing around with them.
 

mlrocker

600 Club - QQ All-Star
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jul 2, 2016
Messages
609
Location
Daytona Beach Fl
Enjoy your new gadget.
Much of the fun of Eurorack modules is the "happy accidents" that emerge from just screwing around with them.
Thnaks and I agree, less is more. Contrast is good too. I found the Time Button and did some slow panning quad with some Patrick Shiroishi music. So in concluding my shakedown cruise of the Aeolus Seeds modular, I am pleased with the results, where initially I was meh. Thanks again Franck Martin for your contribution to my experience!
 
Last edited:

Franck

Active Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2019
Messages
65
Location
USA
Thnaks and I agree, less is more. Contrast is good too. I found the Time Button and did some slow panning quad with some Patrick Shiroishi music. So in concluding my shakedown cruise of the Aeolus Seeds modular, I am pleased with the results, where initially I was meh. Thanks again Franck Martin for your contribution to my experience!
Many Thanks and my pleasure.

The Seeds has 4 input because it is basically a 4 VCA module, with some fancy controls. So in a non quad system, you can have 4 different inputs and then use the module to have a dynamic mix sent to the output sum.
In a quad setup the first input is internally duplicated to all four inputs and the four VCAs control individually each output.

I'm glad you like this module, I have added to my rack an intellijel planar 2, so I have some interesting quad controls.
 

mlrocker

600 Club - QQ All-Star
QQ Supporter
Joined
Jul 2, 2016
Messages
609
Location
Daytona Beach Fl
Many Thanks and my pleasure.

I'm glad you like this module, I have added to my rack an intellijel planar 2, so I have some interesting quad controls.
Thanks for the suggestion, I do have a about 14" of rack space available.
 
Top