Gladding Mark200a Receiver

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wolverine

I found this site while searching for info on this unit I just picked up. I am just getting into older gear after scoring a pair of RTR Series IV speakers. I was blown away by their sound and it was suggested I find a receiver from the same era to power them. Long story short I start searcing the local thrift shops and come up with this unit.

Surfing the net has yielded me pretty much nothing other than Orion Bluebook says these units were about $500 in their day and were manufactured between 77-82. The serial # 1171 would seem to me to indicate this unit would have been made fairly early on but since I can't find anything out on Gladding I have no baseline. Thought I post a few pictures here and see if this rings any bells with the Quad community.

I appreciate any help anyone can give. I will probably have more questions as I start using it but for now just learning a little about its bloodlines/specs would be very helpful.

Attachments

• speakers 009.jpg
    speakers 009.jpg
    58.1 KB · Views: 248
  • speakers 011.jpg
    speakers 011.jpg
    58.8 KB · Views: 208
  • speakers 015.jpg
    speakers 015.jpg
    56.7 KB · Views: 211
I used to work on HiFi gear during the quad era. I'm not familiar with that one. It appears from the pictures to be a nice unit, but it's hard to tell from a photo. Good luck finding a schematic for it.

The Quadfather

It looks very similar to a Realistic model. I'll check some of my old catalogs.

I had to go back to a 1973/74 catalog to find this one. It's from "Claricon", they probably used "Gladding" as their higher end. Yours may be an improved 'A' model. I am not sure. I could not find any entries on the 200A.

Does yours have the "optional" modules?