Help I'm totally new to this!

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
K

K Holed

Okay here goes. I've heard of quadraphonics but until recently I'd never heard it. I'm a pink floyd fan and I knew that 'The Dark side of the Moon' had been released as a quadraphonic recording but I hadn't heard it. Last week I went to Glstonbury festival here in England where Roger Waters was playing. Needless to say he had a quadraphonic set up and it blew me away! I now feel that I NEED to get into this quadraphonic thing. I guess what I want to know is, where do I start?

Where can I get an amp?
What amp should I get?
Are there many working amps still out there?
How much am I looking at?
What other equipment do I need?
etc. etc.

So many questions I know but I have nowhere left to turn. Any help would be much appreaciated.

The best way to get "into" quad, or more currently "surround sound" or "multichannel", is to get a modern system that can play DTS CDs created from old quad tapes and discs, and that can play the new DVD-A and SACD discs that are appearing around the world.

To start out with a "classic" or "vintage" system, you could go to eBay and find a SANSUI QRX-9001 or 8001, a Q8 deck like an AKAI CR-80D-SS, a CD-4 compatible cartridge and turntable, and start looking for software!

It can be fun to do it the old way, but the new way is not bad either.

I'm sure others will chime in here. GOOD LUCK and WELCOME.

:-jon