Hi I'm a newbie and need help with Quadraphonic hardware questions.

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

quadnewbie

:) Hi I'm a newbie and need help with Quadradial Output
I own a Marantz 2226B with a Quadradial Output and also bought on Ebay a Marantz Model 2440 Integrated Amplifier with a SQA-1 decoder. Can I hook up the 2440 to the 2226B through the Quadradial Output? I heard you can hook decoders to it but how since it's only one output?
Thank you for any information you can share. I also own a Sony SQD-2020, Marantz Model cd400 Unit and Sansui QS-500 4 channel rear amp. None of this is hooked up because I am waiting for the 2440 to show up and will combine whatever will give me the best sound and I will sell the rest on Ebay. Basically, I have an idea what I am doing but would like some real advice to set me straight! Happy holidays to you all and would like to hear what should I do? Help! Thank you. Quadnewbie

As I understand it, subject to correction by other forum members, is that the quadradial output is RF and was meant for a future quadraphonic FM decoder, if such a decoder was ever built (I dont think one ever was).

By the way, welcome to the wonderful world of Quad. You will find on this forum experts on most any area of quadraphonic reproduction that exist today, or existed in the past. If you have any questions, just ask, and someone in this forum will usually answer.

MTGC (Michael)

So, is there anything that will work in that Quadradial output? I am sure I read somewhere that you could hook up something through this?

It's a dead end because 1) it's only going to be the tuner output, 2) none of the FM signals are encoded for quad and 3) it never really escaped the laboratory.