Hi I'm a newbie and need help with Quadraphonic hardware questions.

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
also, if not, what can you play through it other than another turntable? Thank you

I have one other major question for anyone with knowledge for me: If a receiver has two phono sets, can you play a tape player or rca cd player through one outlet? Thank you~

In short, NO!! Phono inputs will typically have 1.5mV to 3mV input. where as an Tape or Aux input may be 160mV to 180mV. You will blow your inputs.

Spence

And, even if you don't blow the electronical components associated with the phono inputs, the result will be terrible overload and distorted sound. Not to mention that the phono preamps have RIAA compensation too.

The phono inputs are strictly reserved for magnetic phono cartridges.

Some early amps had inputs for both ceramic and magnetic cartridges and you could use the ceramic input for other high level devices but generally, modern amps or receivers' phono inputs are meant for magnetics.

Doug

take offense - i am sure - sell that stuff and buy sansui - the ONLY true quad decoding out there.:chill

buy any of the qrx - X001 models - get it rebuilt - if you have to go with amps because youre a power nut ( i am ) have the rebuilder put you in some pre-outs and use your marantz amps.

i am sure someone might disagree:howl - but why go to all this trouble to have lousy 4-channel separation? ive had a beautiful marantz 4400 with every decoder offered and i really didnt know what quad sounded like until i bought a beat-up qrx9001 - still sounded better than my rebuilt marantz - then when i had the 9001 rebuilt...well, live and learn....and i learned the expensive way - buy sansui.