Quantcast

How do I make a 5.1 audio DVD?

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

JonUrban

Forum Curmudgeon
Staff member
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
16,510
Location
Connecticut
Do I need to have a Dolby encoder?
Do I need 24/48 .wav files?
What's the best program to go from flac/wav 5.1 files to a DVD-V audio disc? (NOT DVD-A)
Can I use 24/48 DTS?

I must be missing something here
 

sjcorne

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
3,199
Location
Southern NY
The easiest way I can think of to do this is with AudioMuxer. Simply add your files (either .AC3 @448 kbps or .DTS will do) and click "Mux To DVD" on the right hand side. This will create a VIDEO_TS folder that you can burn to a DVD-R via ImgBurn.

I've never used a software DVD-rate DTS encoder, but there are AC3 encoders built into Audacity (with ffmpeg) and AudioMuxer (click "Audio Conversion" in the top left corner).
 
Last edited:

JonUrban

Forum Curmudgeon
Staff member
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
16,510
Location
Connecticut
Cool, right under my nose.

What about an AC3 encoder. I used to have the one from Sony/Sound Forge, but they abandoned the product and I don't have it anymore. What do people use in 2020?
 

Sonik Wiz

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
1,812
Location
Kansas City

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
3,454
Location
Melbourne, Australia
If you have a Surcode DTS encoder you can set Audiomuxer to use that when it creates a DVD.

Ffmpeg has both an experimental DTS encoder (and MLP encoder, no use for DVDV). I’ve not tried it. Anyone interested can read this:

 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
3,454
Location
Melbourne, Australia
I tried the MLP encoder about 18 months ago and that left a regular ‘pop’ in the encoded files.. I haven’t tried since.

Ive not tried the DTS encoder, but based on the thread (above link) it appears to at least do 1536kbps
 

IMachine

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,753
Location
Duesseldorf, Germany

DuncanS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
5,369
Location
UK
I tried the MLP encoder about 18 months ago and that left a regular ‘pop’ in the encoded files.. I haven’t tried since.

Ive not tried the DTS encoder, but based on the thread (above link) it appears to at least do 1536kbps
I bought Faasoft's Audio Convertor software with the DTS encoder and it did the same putting in pops/clicks et al so I abandoned it.
 

zeerround

Moderator
Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Messages
273
FYI, this was all about audio as part of a DVD Video. VIDEO_TS vs. AUDIO_TS.

Not really DVD Audio, which doesn't involve DTS or Dolby encoding. But Jon if that's what you wanted great. True DVD audio is a pretty dead format. At least in the US, but still made in the EU?

"Audio is stored on the disc in Linear PCM format, which is either uncompressed or losslessly compressed with MLP (Meridian Lossless Packing)."

I have never authored a true DVD Audio disc. But there are/were surcode MLP encoders and ChromeWelder(sp?) and Sonic DVD-Audio Creator for authoring.

But yeah AudioMuxer is the way to go to put audio ( and pictures only, no "video, no menus) on a DVD (video), AVCHD, or Blu-Ray.

The DTS or Dolby encoder used is going to determine weather or not you can achieve lossless or lossy surround however (and how many channels).

The free/reverse engineered DTS encoders are going to be DTS core only so lossey.

The heavy hitters (DTS:X and Dolby Atmos) are expensive and only run on Macs.
 

baward

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
17
Ah, I remember the days when I paid £800 each for Apple DVD Studio Pro and the hardware PCI card that someone close to them sold to go along with it...
 

JonUrban

Forum Curmudgeon
Staff member
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
16,510
Location
Connecticut
Zee,

Like I said, not DVD-Audio. I have all of that stuff along with the many cars I've own with DVD-Audio players, believe me I've made a SHITLOAD of DVD-Audio discs. Thankfully, I no longer have to deal with DVD-A or DTS CD in my car, flac is working fine. I was interested in trying an AUDIO DVD in my wife's AUDI which we bought used a few months back.

Not that she would really appreciate it, it was just that I was interested to see if it would work, as it claims to play DVD discs (Not DVD-Audio)
 

DuncanS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
5,369
Location
UK
Zee,

Like I said, not DVD-Audio. I have all of that stuff along with the many cars I've own with DVD-Audio players, believe me I've made a SHITLOAD of DVD-Audio discs. Thankfully, I no longer have to deal with DVD-A or DTS CD in my car, flac is working fine. I was interested in trying an AUDIO DVD in my wife's AUDI which we bought used a few months back.

Not that she would really appreciate it, it was just that I was interested to see if it would work, as it claims to play DVD discs (Not DVD-Audio)
My old (2015) A4 would play Audio DVD in stereo, but shut down any images that came on the screen if you started driving, so no good for navigating the disc - I even tested one of Giancarlo's Nosound albums would playback correctly on it!. My new A5 has a disc player buried in the back of the Glove-box, CD only I think, I play everything off the SDCard (its a stereo only system fitted :( ).
 

zeerround

Moderator
Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Messages
273
The "Z" in Zeeround and my avatar are from my 350z, that really started all this surround stuff for me:


1603407275294.png


Sadly I totaled that car :cry:. And while I replaced it with an updated and only slightly more sedate Infiniti Q60 (same [updated] car underneath) the audio system in the Q60 is computer integrated with the car and can't really be modified, and while it has a center speaker, only plays 5.1 in "fake" surround (downmixed to stereo then upmixed in some fake way I have no control over).

As far as I can tell the bose amps even get their audio over the computer bus, so no way to even splice in another system, short of gutting the whole thing.

Sad.

Hmm, guess I need a standalone system and a mobile Realizer A16 with ear buds or something ;). Might actually be cheaper in the long run. 7.1.4 in the car. :SB

But then with layoff/covid I'm not commuting anyway. Usually listen to audible or news in the car these days.
 
Top