How to direct Kodi to my Network NAS drive??

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

GOS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
18,127
Location
Central Illinois
So, I'm wanting to give Kodi a test run. To be honest, only because I cannot get Foobar 2000 to play ANY of my Atmos files. To be clear, Foobar has been my all time favorite media player, yet I know it's because I've used it for years and in general, I have little if any trouble with it.

Garry AKA @HomerJAU suggested I start a new thread here, so others might learn how to get Kodi set up. Since I'm a total NOOB with computer stuff, I need detailed steps to get it going.

So......I've downloaded Kodi, and that's about it. The thing is, in Foobar, it's super freaking easy to assign your NAS drive to it, 2 clicks and it's gold. Kodi, I guess I can't figure it out.....
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
5,049
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Ok. Let’s establish what you’ve got.

What version of Kodi? 19.1 is latest (recommended)
What version of Windows?
Do you have your NAS shared folders mapped to a Windows drive letter?
 
  • Like
Reactions: GOS

GOS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
18,127
Location
Central Illinois
KODI - where does it tell me what version I have? I'm using a KODI app (I guess). I don't see anything called "about", which is typically where it says what version.
Windows 10

Here is a snapshot of my NAS. I honestly have no idea if I have it mapped to a letter or not. I did this a couple years ago.

1625267476574.png
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
5,049
Location
Melbourne, Australia
To get the Kodi version:

From Kodi’s menu, click: System

That will display the Kodi Settings screen.

Look for System Info, click that

On the screen that is displayed click: About Kodi
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
5,049
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Last edited:

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
5,049
Location
Melbourne, Australia
I have moved several of my original posts on setting up Kodi on Windows to this thread:

 

GOS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
18,127
Location
Central Illinois
Last edited:

LuvMyQuad

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
4,415
Location
Western NY
Before I go changing things :), if Foobar, etc is accessing my NAS drive the way it is, why do I need to map a drive?
Ill jump in some.

You dont HAVE to map the drive. It just makes everything so much easier. Else you are messing with long paths all the time. Even ripping is easier with mapped drives.
 
  • Like
Reactions: GOS

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
5,049
Location
Melbourne, Australia
@GOS Mapping your NAS drives in Windows won’t change how you’ve setup Foobar.

Regarding Kodi version. You can always uninstall and install 19.1 from the link in the new How To install Kodi on Windows thread.

Get well soon!
 
  • Like
Reactions: GOS
Top