JVC 4DD-5 Demodulator

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
J

jshort74

I just puchased a JVC 4DD-5 Demodulator on ebay and I am having some troble with it. I connected my turntable to the two phono inputs and the 4 outputs from the demodulator to the four aux. inputs on my Pioneer QX-8000. Wehn I turn on the demodulator all I get is a buzz through the speakers. Do I have this thing connected properly? Does anyone have any idea what is wrong. I have a pretty good idea that I just purchased a paperweight.

Thank you

I have not tried that yet, Iwill. However, the turntable works fine when it is connected to my modern reciever.

Can you tell me how to connect my ground cable. Do you mean a third prong on the plug? I know there is a place to connect a ground on the back of the demodulator. You'll have to excuse me I am new to vintage audio equipment.

Hi I also own a 4DD-5 demodulator.

On the right side of the back of the unit, just above the power cord you will find a grounding connector that when you push on it exposes a hole in the shaft of the connector. You need to run the ground wire from your turntable (not the ground on the electric plug, but a separate wire that usually is attached to the turntable near the audio cables) to the grounding connector (just pass the wire through the hole). This may eliminate the hum. If it does not you will have to have the unit repaired. Hope this helps.

I did try disconnecting the turntable from the inputs on the demodulator and it still had the buzz. I quickly looked for a ground wire off of the back of my turntable and I didn't see one. I'll try to find one or some place to connect one. If I cannot find one, couldn't I connect a wire to the frame of the turntable and then connect that to the ground connection on the demodulator? There are ground connections on the back of my reciever.