kempfand's Adobe Audition 3.0 SQ and QS Scripts

QuadraphonicQuad Home Audio Forum

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad Home Audio Forum:

surroundme33

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
93
Location
Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
Do the scripts mentioned here ONLY work on Audition 3.0?? Does Audition 3.0 work on a Windows 7 or 10 PC? Thanks and please direct me somewhere if this has been answered already.
 

Sonik Wiz

👂 500 MPH EARS 👂
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
3,377
Location
Kansas City
Do the scripts mentioned here ONLY work on Audition 3.0?? Does Audition 3.0 work on a Windows 7 or 10 PC? Thanks and please direct me somewhere if this has been answered already.
I have personally used AA 3 on Win XP up to & including Win 10. It works just fine!

Edit: Yes these scripts are specific for Adobe Audition.
 
Last edited:

Sonik Wiz

👂 500 MPH EARS 👂
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
3,377
Location
Kansas City
Thank you for replying. Are the scripts specific ONLY to AA3 ?

I thought I mentioned that before. Yes these scripts work only with Adobe Audition 3.

Here's why. A script file is nothing more than a text file that the audio editor understands & takes directions from. In AA3 a short section of a waveform is selected and then you manually go through the various steps you want to automate. This is called "recording" a script. When finished you save the script with a name that makes sense & then process your audio files as needed using batch processing.

So, the script is created 100% within AA 3 using VST's & functions that are available in the app. It won't function in any other audio editor. Oh, and another secondary reason is the seperation enhancement of the decoded material relies on the Center Channel Elimanator function in AA 3. I have never seen anything exactly like it in any other audio editor.
 

surroundme33

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
93
Location
Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
I thought I mentioned that before. Yes these scripts work only with Adobe Audition 3.

Here's why. A script file is nothing more than a text file that the audio editor understands & takes directions from. In AA3 a short section of a waveform is selected and then you manually go through the various steps you want to automate. This is called "recording" a script. When finished you save the script with a name that makes sense & then process your audio files as needed using batch processing.

So, the script is created 100% within AA 3 using VST's & functions that are available in the app. It won't function in any other audio editor. Oh, and another secondary reason is the seperation enhancement of the decoded material relies on the Center Channel Elimanator function in AA 3. I have never seen anything exactly like it in any other audio editor.

Thanks for this. I have been using this SQ decoding scripts since 2008. I was hoping that the AA3 script might work with a later version of Audition (CS 5.5), for instance. My older PC (Windows XP) with all my quad related scripts, software etc is about to die. I will need to replace it with something newer (Windows 7 machine). I have the Delta M-Audio 1010LT card installed and there are no drivers (not yet anyway) for Windows 10 or 11. Thanks again for your help.
 

Owen Smith

701 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
718
Location
UK
Thanks for this. I have been using this SQ decoding scripts since 2008. I was hoping that the AA3 script might work with a later version of Audition (CS 5.5), for instance. My older PC (Windows XP) with all my quad related scripts, software etc is about to die. I will need to replace it with something newer (Windows 7 machine). I have the Delta M-Audio 1010LT card installed and there are no drivers (not yet anyway) for Windows 10 or 11. Thanks again for your help.
If there aren't any Windows 10 drivers for your card by now there probably never will be, Windows 10 is more than half way through its life.
 

Sonik Wiz

👂 500 MPH EARS 👂
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
3,377
Location
Kansas City
Thanks for this. I have been using this SQ decoding scripts since 2008. I was hoping that the AA3 script might work with a later version of Audition (CS 5.5), for instance. My older PC (Windows XP) with all my quad related scripts, software etc is about to die. I will need to replace it with something newer (Windows 7 machine). I have the Delta M-Audio 1010LT card installed and there are no drivers (not yet anyway) for Windows 10 or 11. Thanks again for your help.

I didn't mean to state the obvious... I just didn't know your level of experience which seems considerable. Like you I have a Delta 1010 (not LT) matched with Win 7. I know AA3 works with Win 10 but have never tried the Delta 1010 with anything newer than 7. It seems the great Win Driver Divide started with Vista. And in general if stuff works with Vista it will work with newer OS. Like @Owen Smith said there will never be drivers for our sound cards. But if it works with Vista it might work with those beyond.
 

Owen Smith

701 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
718
Location
UK
I didn't mean to state the obvious... I just didn't know your level of experience which seems considerable. Like you I have a Delta 1010 (not LT) matched with Win 7. I know AA3 works with Win 10 but have never tried the Delta 1010 with anything newer than 7. It seems the great Win Driver Divide started with Vista. And in general if stuff works with Vista it will work with newer OS. Like @Owen Smith said there will never be drivers for our sound cards. But if it works with Vista it might work with those beyond.
Vista and Windows 7 are completely compatible for drivers. Before that XP drivers are different. After that Windows 8 onwards drivers are different, but I've lost track of if drivers changed incompatibly again for Windows 10 and I don't know anything about Windows 11.
 

quadaholic

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
204
Location
Newtonville MA
Thanks for this. I have been using this SQ decoding scripts since 2008. I was hoping that the AA3 script might work with a later version of Audition (CS 5.5), for instance. My older PC (Windows XP) with all my quad related scripts, software etc is about to die. I will need to replace it with something newer (Windows 7 machine). I have the Delta M-Audio 1010LT card installed and there are no drivers (not yet anyway) for Windows 10 or 11. Thanks again for your help.
33,
All of these scripts will only work with AA3. Even though it is an ancient program, what you need to do is make sure you use it in "compatibility mode", and that will usually fix any buggy stuff that might be happening. The new versions of Audition are very different, and also sound a bit different as well when you start using all the plug ins for this and that. Presently, Audition seems optimized for faster processing and compatibility inside the whole Adobe creative suite (premiere especially). Things are way more centered around video processing these days, and AA3 was more audio centric. Whatever the case, I have it working on a Windows 10 laptop and it's working fine.
Good luck!
 

surroundme33

Active Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
93
Location
Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
33,
All of these scripts will only work with AA3. Even though it is an ancient program, what you need to do is make sure you use it in "compatibility mode", and that will usually fix any buggy stuff that might be happening. The new versions of Audition are very different, and also sound a bit different as well when you start using all the plug ins for this and that. Presently, Audition seems optimized for faster processing and compatibility inside the whole Adobe creative suite (premiere especially). Things are way more centered around video processing these days, and AA3 was more audio centric. Whatever the case, I have it working on a Windows 10 laptop and it's working fine.
Good luck!
Thank you for clarifying this. I really need both the card, software (AA3), and scripts to work together. I will be planning my migration from my 2003 XP machine to a used Dell Windows 7 machine very soon. Not sure how much longer that computer's internal components and mother board will hold-up. Wish me luck. lol!
 

quadaholic

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
204
Location
Newtonville MA
Thank you for clarifying this. I really need both the card, software (AA3), and scripts to work together. I will be planning my migration from my 2003 XP machine to a used Dell Windows 7 machine very soon. Not sure how much longer that computer's internal components and mother board will hold-up. Wish me luck. lol!
Yes, best of luck. My approach is to inherit relatives laptops when they upgrade. Most of the programs I like to use for music things are way old anyway! Anyway, don't forget about using "compatibility mode" with the newer computer. You should be able to get it to work fine without too much effort.
 

ssully

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Jul 2, 2003
Messages
3,380
Location
in your face
Hi,

Auroran script:

So it appears that the SQ Final script can decode the file (I have not tried it as I don't have it) but the Auroran script has issues with your test tones, very odd. The Auroran script decodes my test tones and Quadrafile but not yours.

Can you attach a copy of SQ Final so I can test please.
so how did your Final vs Auroran test pan out?
 
Top