Listening to Now (In Dolby Atmos)

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

Cheezmo

800 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
Jun 5, 2011
Messages
820
Location
Texas
Huh. Both tracks playing in Atmos for me...
I had to remove the album from my library and add it again, and they switched to Atmos. Probably would have happened on its own over night or something, they probably just switched to Atmos recently. The way Apple is doing this is so stupid. Tracks changing which mix you get after the fact, but whatever.
 

J. PUPSTER

💿🐕 Senior Disc Chaser 🎸
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
10,021
Location
CALIFORNIA (CENTRAL)
I had to remove the album from my library and add it again, and they switched to Atmos. Probably would have happened on its own over night or something, they probably just switched to Atmos recently. The way Apple is doing this is so stupid. Tracks changing which mix you get after the fact, but whatever.
For sure! but a good tip for us all here, in order to get some of these new Atmos tracks to show up - thanks @Cheezmo !
 

IMachine

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
2,161
Location
Duesseldorf, Germany
I had to remove the album from my library and add it again, and they switched to Atmos. Probably would have happened on its own over night or something, they probably just switched to Atmos recently. The way Apple is doing this is so stupid. Tracks changing which mix you get after the fact, but whatever.
Apple wrote when they introduced Atmos that you have to delete and download an album again that was in your mediathek before.
 

Cheezmo

800 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
Jun 5, 2011
Messages
820
Location
Texas
Apple wrote when they introduced Atmos that you have to delete and download an album again that was in your mediathek before.
I had not downloaded it. I was streaming and just got the lossless (Get info on the track in my library just showed lossless). After deleting and reloading (again NOT downloading anything, Get info showed the track was in Dolby Atmos and it did play that way).

So what you say is true if you had previously downloaded a track, this was not the issue in my situation. I believe it is simply that my Music app hadn't "sync'ed up" with the latest change that had been made on the servers.
 

IMachine

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
2,161
Location
Duesseldorf, Germany
I had not downloaded it. I was streaming and just got the lossless (Get info on the track in my library just showed lossless). After deleting and reloading (again NOT downloading anything, Get info showed the track was in Dolby Atmos and it did play that way).

So what you say is true if you had previously downloaded a track, this was not the issue in my situation. I believe it is simply that my Music app hadn't "sync'ed up" with the latest change that had been made on the servers.
You‘re right, my mistake….I meant when you already added something to your library you have to delete it and load it again.
 

Ephi82

Well-known Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2016
Messages
165
Location
S FL
Bee Gees "Nights On Broadway"
(ATV; 5.1.2)

View attachment 71884

realised i hadn't properly listened to this track in Atmos until now.. i'm all up for revisionist remixes, if they improve on the original great, even if they're no better or worse i can still enjoy aspects of them mostly by virtue of being in Surround.. but gosh this is an absolutely terrible mix, i can't sugarcoat it! 😂

The mix is certainly way different. Almost sounds like a different group of musicians. I enjoyed the new mix but no way it was a hit mixed this way.
 
Top