• QuadraphonicQuad welcomes you and encourages your participation! Treat all members with respect. Please keep all discussions civil, even when you have a strong opinion on a particular topic.

    Do not offer for free, offer for sale, offer for trade, or request copies or files of copyrighted material - no matter how rare or unavailable to the public they might be. We do not condone the illegal sharing of music. There are many places on the internet where you can participate in such transactions, but QuadraphonicQuad is not one of them. We are here to encourage and support new multichannel releases from those companies that still provide them and as such the distribution of illegal copies of recordings is counter-productive to that effort. Any posts of this sort will be deleted without notification.

    Please try to avoid discussions that pit one format against another. Hint for new users: make liberal use of the search facilities here at QuadraphonicQuad. Our message base is an incredibly rich resource of detailed information on virtually all topics pertaining to surround-sound. You will be surprised at what you can find with a little digging!

Making Quadraphonic and 5.1 files for music server

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

Cheezmo

400 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
Jun 5, 2011
Messages
417
Location
Texas
If you are OK with 16/48, the newest AppleTV will play back lossless 5.1. You just have to convert it from flac to Apple Lossless and get the channel order right. It won't playback 4 channel correctly, but 5.0 and 5.1 work fine. Apple wants the channel order to be C, L, R, LR, RR, LFE. I've tested up to 24/192 but as I said the AppleTV will down convert it to 16/48.

The only tool I know that will convert from multichannel flac to multichannel Apple Lossless and map the channel order correctly is xACT. You then have to change the extension from .m4a to .m4p for iTunes and the AppleTV to recognize them.
 

bmoura

Super Moderator
Staff member
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
9,519
Location
Redwood City, CA
I use J River 21 and had to convert the Chicago Quadio from 4.0 to 5.1 using Audiomuxer (with C and LFE empty) in order to get the 4 speakers playing properly - the initial 4.0 would play in FL, FR, C, and LFE..
How do you convert 4.0 files to 5.1 with AudioMuxer?
 

himey

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
1,461
How do you convert 4.0 files to 5.1 with AudioMuxer?
I am familiar with Audiomuxer but I couldn't tell you how to do it with that outstanding program, but using another free program, Audicity, it is a piece of cake. If you need help, let me know, my bet is you can figure it out yourself. Pretty intuitive program if you have used any that are similar. The difference is, it will output multichannel files rather than stereo with multiple tracks...
 

bmoura

Super Moderator
Staff member
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
9,519
Location
Redwood City, CA
I just did most of the Chicago Quadio box using MakeMKV and then AudioMuxer (Extract Audio from MKV file) and I got perfect 24/192 4 channel .flac files with proper cue's and they play perfectly from a USB drive connected to my Oppo. No channel futzing required. Works great.
Doesn't MakeMKV generate DTS Core (24/48) files vs. 24/192 files from the Quadio box?
That's what it shows here.
 

bmoura

Super Moderator
Staff member
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
9,519
Location
Redwood City, CA
I am familiar with Audiomuxer but I couldn't tell you how to do it with that outstanding program, but using another free program, Audicity, it is a piece of cake. If you need help, let me know, my bet is you can figure it out yourself. Pretty intuitive program if you have used any that are similar. The difference is, it will output multichannel files rather than stereo with multiple tracks...
Audicity looks pretty straight forward. If you have the steps to convert the 4.0 files to 5.1 by all means let me know what the steps are.
That will speed things along here with the Chicago Quadio conversions.
 

himey

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
1,461
Audicity looks pretty straight forward. If you have the steps to convert the 4.0 files to 5.1 by all means let me know what the steps are.
That will speed things along here with the Chicago Quadio conversions.
Rip with Makemkv and Audiomuxer. Load one song into Audicity. You will see the quad tracks (channels) in the display. Add two additional tracks into the interface. When you go to save as wav or flac, a little graphic will pop up. Configure the 5.1 to the proper layout as L,R,C,S,Ls,Rs.

To add the two additional audio tracks go to "Tracks", add new, audio track. Do that twice...

To save as wav or flac, go to edit, select, all. Then File, export selected audio.

You can skip the little graphic pop up, that routes the channels if you wish. Once you load the two extra silent tracks, simply move them up in the graphic interface to their proper position, which will be the 3rd and 4th slots. Locate either silent track, where it says "audio track" with the tiny arrow down, click it and hit "move up" to put it into the proper position in layout. Doing it like this will save time. Now when that little box pops up to route channels, just click OK or hit enter rather than making any changes to it...
 

bmoura

Super Moderator
Staff member
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 2, 2003
Messages
9,519
Location
Redwood City, CA
Rip with Makemkv and Audiomuxer. Load one song into Audicity. You will see the quad tracks (channels) in the display. Add two additional tracks into the interface. When you go to save as wav or flac, a little graphic will pop up. Configure the 5.1 to the proper layout as L,R,C,S,Ls,Rs.

To add the two additional audio tracks go to "Tracks", add new, audio track. Do that twice...

To save as wav or flac, go to edit, select, all. Then File, export selected audio.

You can skip the little graphic pop up, that routes the channels if you wish. Once you load the two extra silent tracks, simply move them up in the graphic interface to their proper position, which will be the 3rd and 4th slots. Locate either silent track, where it says "audio track" with the tiny arrow down, click it and hit "move up" to put it into the proper position in layout. Doing it like this will save time. Now when that little box pops up to route channels, just click OK or hit enter rather than making any changes to it...
This seems to work except when I go to Export Selected Audio. I get a Warning that the tracks will be mixed down to a Single Mono Channel in the exported file.
Hmm....
 

himey

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
1,461
This seems to work except when I go to Export Selected Audio. I get a Warning that the tracks will be mixed down to a Single Mono Channel in the exported file.
Hmm....


Goto edit, preferences, import/export, check, USE CUSTOM MIX! That should solve that...
 

MC Maniac

300 Club - QQ All-Star
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Messages
364
Location
Ontario Canada
Not necessarily. If you play a quad with JRiver set to output 5.1, you have a separate option that lets you decide whether it will create/synthesize "an actual C and LFE" or not. In the latter case, which I use, JRiver does not create anything but simply redistributes the 4 channels so that, indeed, "the Ls and Rs do play in the proper speakers."
Thanks very much for this clarification! Indeed there is no need to convert 4.0 to 5.1 to play properly in JRiver..
 

quicksrt

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Jul 5, 2002
Messages
2,313
Location
Surf City, CA
Not necessarily. If you play a quad with JRiver set to output 5.1, you have a separate option that lets you decide whether it will create/synthesize "an actual C and LFE" or not. In the latter case, which I use, JRiver does not create anything but simply redistributes the 4 channels so that, indeed, "the Ls and Rs do play in the proper speakers."
I do find that I am constantly going into playback setting in JRivet and switching from 5.1 to source number of channels. With DTS decoding not happening at all in one of the modes. The other mode gives me no rear speakers (withvsome surround content) until I switch back to other setting.

I should really start taking notes on which setting works good on what program (particular albums) content. I did notice that not all of my Audio Fidelity dsf MC rips use the same setting to play back correctly. How odd.

I’ll look for “Create / synthesize” selection and note that it is off.
 

Kal Rubinson

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
1,876
Location
NYC/CT
I do find that I am constantly going into playback setting in JRivet and switching from 5.1 to source number of channels. With DTS decoding not happening at all in one of the modes. The other mode gives me no rear speakers (withvsome surround content) until I switch back to other setting.
I do not play any dts files and the few I have are converted off-line to FLAC. As a result, everything plays fine with output set to 5.1 or 7.1.
 

Kal Rubinson

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
1,876
Location
NYC/CT
My DTS Release discs are also ripped to FLAC, but are still DTS.
Yes, I know that you can do that but I convert them to decoded PCM/FLAC. Storage space is not an issue for me and I like having the format consistency in playback. It minimizes/eliminates the need to have different playback output formats down the line.
 

quicksrt

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Jul 5, 2002
Messages
2,313
Location
Surf City, CA
Yes, I know that you can do that but I convert them to decoded PCM/FLAC. Storage space is not an issue for me and I like having the format consistency in playback. It minimizes/eliminates the need to have different playback output formats down the line.
Makes perfect sense - but in your reply to my post you just said you convert to FLAC, you didn’t mention the PCM part. DTS > PCM > FLAC

I’ll consider this decode before FLAC conversion, try it and compare sq. What sw do you use to do these two steps? Is it a one click type thing in dBpoweramp? Extractor?

Oh and one other thing, I think it’s not only the DTS in particular that trips up my playback, but number of channels coming from a program to the next program that causes the need for a playback output re-setting. How many channels are you giving the DTS quad albums? Or do all DTS releases have 5.1 and that is that? Anything need changing on channels in the PCM print?
 
Last edited:

jhw59

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
247
Location
washington dc metro
So, today, what is the best/easiest tool to use to rip quad and 5.1 discs to an external hd or play through JRiver? Do you have to spend a lot for this tool?
 

Kal Rubinson

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
1,876
Location
NYC/CT
Makes perfect sense - but in your reply to my post you just said you convert to FLAC, you didn’t mention the PCM part. DTS > PCM > FLAC
Granted.

I’ll consider this decode before FLAC conversion, try it and compare sq. What sw do you use to do these two steps? Is it a one click type thing in dBpoweramp? Extractor?
Varies. I've used Extractor, Xrecode3 and JRiver.

Oh and one other thing, I think it’s not only the DTS in particular that trips up my playback, but number of channels coming from a program to the next program that causes the need for a playback output re-setting. How many channels are you giving the DTS quad albums? Or do all DTS releases have 5.1 and that is that? Anything need changing on channels in the PCM print?
All are either 5.0 or 5.1 and they all play with JRMC set for 5.1 output.
 

quicksrt

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Jul 5, 2002
Messages
2,313
Location
Surf City, CA
So, today, what is the best/easiest tool to use to rip quad and 5.1 discs to an external hd or play through JRiver? Do you have to spend a lot for this tool?
It’s several tools dear, and many are free. Do you already have fairly extensive experience ripping CDs to FLAC, and/or Stripping & Ripping and otherwise dealing with DVDs & ISOs?

Depending on your prior experience with these media file types - is where you should jump in with a particular software. Home brew conversions and DTS CD discs easiest to work with, DVD-V next easiest, DVD-A next, and SACD can be the more complex out of the bunch.

It helps to have a master’s degree in computer science (just kidding).
 
Last edited:

esimms86

600 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
Aug 2, 2018
Messages
659
Location
United States
Once you configure your player(in my case, an OPPO 103), USB drive and computer to rip SACDs, the rest becomes child's play. It has never failed me. Insert USB drive, turn on player, wait for drawer to open, insert disc, close disc, and click on the computer's cmd file. Once completed, run iso2dsd_gui.exe software to convert ISO file to stereo and/or multichannel DSD. The most difficult part of the whole process is locating and purchasing the appropriate affordable player. And no, I don't convert my DSD files to FLAC(though others do).
 
2
Top